Official nameFederative Republic of Brazil
Name in local languageRepública Federativa do Brasil (pt)
SubcontinentSouth America
Population (ranking: 6e)212,777,038 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth0.84 % / year
Area8,515,759 km²
Density24.99 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 9e)1,839.758 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)8,717 $USD (2019)
GDP growth1.10 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)76.97 years (2021)
Birth rate13.79 ‰ (2021)
Fertility rate1.76 children / woman (2021)
Death rate (ranking)6.61 ‰ (2021)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)11.20 ‰ (2021)
Literacy rate93.00 % (2017)
Official languagesPortuguese
CurrencyReal (R$ BRL)
HDI (ranking: 109e)0.765 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)60.70 (2018)
GovernmentFederal presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Jair Bolsonaro
National Day7 September (independence of 1822)
Tourists (ranking)6,621,000 people (2018)
Brésil – petite

Brazil is a federal state of South America. It is the largest country in the subcontinent, with almost half of its total area, and the fifth largest country in the world. It’s also one of the most populated countries of the world.
It shares borders with virtually all the countries of the subcontinent: Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana, Venezuela and Colombia to the north, Peru, Bolivia and Paraguay to the west, Argentina and Uruguay to the south. It doesn’t have borders with Chile and Ecuador.
Most of the population is concentrated in the south-east of the country, in the urban areas of Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo. The latter has merged with neighboring metropolitan areas, forming one of the largest urban areas in the world with more than 36 million inhabitants.
Urban expansion is one of the main problems facing the Brazilian authorities, as it creates worrying poverty for the country’s future.

Rio de Janeiro - panorama
Rio de Janeiro. Photo: Jens Hausherr
Fleuve Amazone, Brésil
Amazon River, Brazil
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
São Paulo36,315,721 inhabitants
Rio de Janeiro12,699,743 inhabitants
Belo Horizonte5,916,189 inhabitants
Brasília4,560,505 inhabitants
Porto Alegre4,317,508 inhabitants
Fortaleza4,074,730 inhabitants
Recife4,054,866 inhabitants
Salvador3,899,533 inhabitants
Curitiba3,615,027 inhabitants
Manaus2,631,239 inhabitants
Goiânia2,518,775 inhabitants
Belém2,491,052 inhabitants
Vitória1,951,673 inhabitants
São Luis1,621,102 inhabitants
Natal1,587,055 inhabitants
Joinville1,400,128 inhabitants
Maceió1,330,291 inhabitants
João Pessoa1,266,463 inhabitants
Teresina1,222,940 inhabitants
Florianópolis1,189,947 inhabitants
Londrina1,101,595 inhabitants
Campo Grande1,069,420 inhabitants
Aracaju1,052,464 inhabitants
Cuiabá864,131 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Acre869,265 inhabitants164,124 km²
Alagoas3,322,820 inhabitants27,848 km²
Amapá829,494 inhabitants142,829 km²
Amazonas4,080,611 inhabitants1,559,147 km²
Bahia14,812,617 inhabitants564,732 km²
Ceará9,075,649 inhabitants148,888 km²
Espírito Santo3,972,388 inhabitants46,087 km²
Federal District2,974,703 inhabitants5,780 km²
Goiás6,921,161 inhabitants340,106 km²
Maranhão7,035,055 inhabitants331,937 km²
Mato Grosso3,441,998 inhabitants903,202 km²
Mato Grosso do Sul2,748,023 inhabitants357,146 km²
Minas Gerais21,040,662 inhabitants586,521 km²
Pará8,513,497 inhabitants1,247,955 km²
Paraíba3,996,496 inhabitants56,468 km²
Paraná11,348,937 inhabitants199,308 km²
Pernambuco9,496,294 inhabitants98,076 km²
Piauí3,264,531 inhabitants251,612 km²
Rio de Janeiro17,159,960 inhabitants43,782 km²
Rio Grande do Norte3,479,010 inhabitants52,811 km²
Rio Grande do Sul11,329,605 inhabitants281,738 km²
Rondônia1,757,589 inhabitants237,765 km²
Roraima576,568 inhabitants224,301 km²
Santa Catarina7,075,494 inhabitants95,738 km²
São Paulo45,538,936 inhabitants248,220 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also