Official nameRepublic of Paraguay
Name in local languageRepública del Paraguay (es) ; Tetä Paraguáype (gn)
SubcontinentSouth America
Population (ranking: 107e)7,054,473 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.45 % / year
Area406,752 km²
Density17.34 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 96e)40.842 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)5,871 $USD (2018)
GDP growth3.60 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)74.10 years (2018)
Birth rate21.09 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.53 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)5.66 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)26.51 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.03 % (2015)
Official languagesSpanish, Guarani
CurrencyGuarani (PYG)
HDI (ranking: 135e)0.724 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)53.93 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Mario Abdo Benítez
National Day14 May (independence of 1811)
Tourists (ranking)1,537,000 people (2017)
Paraguay – petite
A poor landlocked country with few resources

Paraguay is a country in South America with no access to the sea. It is sparsely populated and is located in the heart of the South American continent between Brazil, Bolivia and Argentina. Its territory has two different regions separated by the Paraguay River: the eastern part, which is the most populated, and the west, which integrates the Chaco Boreal or Gran Chaco (natural region that extends south to Argentina).

Asuncion, capitale du Paraguay
Asuncion, capital of Paraguay
Asuncion de nuit, Paraguay
Asuncion by night, Paraguay
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Asunción2,644,920 inhabitants
Ciudad del Este - Foz do Iguaçu (Brésil)819,211 inhabitants
Encarnación206,578 inhabitants
Pedro Juan Caballero - Ponta Porã (Brésil)205,434 inhabitants
Coronel Oviedo181,514 inhabitants
Caaguazú121,313 inhabitants
Concepción83,226 inhabitants
Villarrica71,489 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Alto Paraguay17,219 inhabitants82,349 km²
Alto Paraná796,689 inhabitants14,895 km²
Amambay164,462 inhabitants12,933 km²
Asuncion524,190 inhabitants117 km²
Boquerón63,011 inhabitants91,669 km²
Caaguazú545,904 inhabitants11,474 km²
Caazapá184,530 inhabitants9,496 km²
Canindeyú221,647 inhabitants14,667 km²
Central2,072,041 inhabitants2,465 km²
Concepción244,071 inhabitants18,051 km²
Cordillera299,234 inhabitants4,948 km²
Guairá220,818 inhabitants3,846 km²
Itapúa592,017 inhabitants16,525 km²
Misiones123,442 inhabitants9,556 km²
Ñeembucú88,784 inhabitants12,147 km²
Paraguarí254,884 inhabitants8,705 km²
Presidente Hayes121,075 inhabitants72,907 km²
San Pedro419,629 inhabitants20,002 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also