Category: United Nations (UN)

Siège de l'ONU à New York

Founded in 1945 by a charter signed in San Francisco (United States), the United Nations (UN) was assigned numerous missions.

The primary goal is to bring together all the countries of the world in a large assembly supposed to allow dialogue and peace between peoples.
For this, the UN is composed of six main organs:

– General Assembly

– Security Council

– Economic and Social Council

– Trusteeship Council

– International Court of Justice

– Secretariat

Many organizations depend on what is known as the “United Nations System”. Thus, the United Nations deals with all the areas for which it is responsible.
Among these organizations are the famous:

– UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, headquarters in Paris)

– FAO (United Nations Food and Agriculture Fund, headquarters in Rome)

– WHO (World Health Organization, headquarters in Geneva)

– IMF (International Monetary Fund, headquarters in Washington)

– World Bank (headquarters in Washington)

– UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Emergency Fund, headquarters in New York)

– UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, headquarters in Geneva)

The headquarters of the organization is in New York, USA. 193 countries are part of the UN, almost all the States of the world, except the Vatican, the Cook Islands and Niue. Taiwan, Somaliland, Kosovo and Palestine are not recognized as States (although they so wish) and therefore can not be represented at the United Nations.

The United Nations has six official languages:







The UN is headed by a Secretary General elected for 5 years.
António Guterres is the current Secretary General of the UN. He replaced Ban Ki-moon on 1 January 2017. He led the organization from 2007 to 2016.