Official nameArgentine Republic
Name in local languageRepública Argentina (es)
SubcontinentSouth America
Population (ranking: 31e)45,376,763 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.97 % / year
Area2,780,400 km²
Density16.32 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 25e)518.475 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)11,653 $USD (2018)
GDP growth-25.00 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)78.07 years (2020)
Birth rate16.33 ‰ (2020)
Fertility rate2.18 children / woman (2020)
Death rate (ranking)6.96 ‰ (2020)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)8.39 ‰ (2020)
Literacy rate99.30 % (2015)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyPeso ($ ARS)
HDI (ranking: 68e)0.830 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)59.30 (2018)
GovernmentFederal presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Alberto Fernández
National Day25 May (revolution of 1810)
DemonymArgentine, Argentinian
Tourists (ranking)6,705,000 people (2017)
Argentine – petite

Argentina is a country in South America bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east, and sharing borders with Chile to the west, Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil and Uruguay to the northeast.

El Calafate, Parc national Los Glaciares, Patagonie, Argentine
El Calafate, Los Glaciares National Park, Patagonia, Argentina. Photo: Gable Denims, Wildlife Archives
Place du Congrès, Buenos Aires, Argentine
Congress Square, Buenos Aires, capital city of Argentina. Photo: Napoletano
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Buenos Aires15,095,458 inhabitants
Córdoba1,516,819 inhabitants
Rosario1,290,459 inhabitants
Mendoza1,004,301 inhabitants
San Miguel de Tucumán840,193 inhabitants
Mar del Plata632,087 inhabitants
Salta595,520 inhabitants
Santa Fe515,707 inhabitants
San Juan490,751 inhabitants
Resistencia404,856 inhabitants
Neuquén382,555 inhabitants
Santiago del Estero381,602 inhabitants
Corrientes368,515 inhabitants
Posadas350,769 inhabitants
San Salvador de Jujuy334,499 inhabitants
Bahía Blanca303,417 inhabitants
Ushuaïa68,686 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Buenos Aires (Ville fédérale)2,891,082 inhabitants203 km²
Buenos Aires15,625,084 inhabitants307,571 km²
Catamarca367,828 inhabitants102,602 km²
Chaco1,055,259 inhabitants99,633 km²
Chubut509,108 inhabitants224,686 km²
Córdoba3,308,876 inhabitants165,321 km²
Corrientes992,595 inhabitants88,199 km²
Entre Ríos1,235,994 inhabitants78,781 km²
Formosa530,162 inhabitants72,066 km²
Jujuy673,307 inhabitants53,219 km²
La Pampa318,951 inhabitants143,440 km²
La Rioja333,642 inhabitants89,680 km²
Mendoza1,738,929 inhabitants148,827 km²
Misiones1,101,593 inhabitants29,801 km²
Neuquén551,266 inhabitants94,078 km²
Río Negro638,645 inhabitants203,013 km²
Salta1,214,441 inhabitants155,488 km²
San Juan681,055 inhabitants89,651 km²
San Luis432,310 inhabitants76,748 km²
Santa Cruz273,964 inhabitants243,943 km²
Santa Fe3,194,537 inhabitants133,007 km²
Santiago del Estero874,006 inhabitants136,351 km²
Terre de Feu, Antarctique et Îles de l'Atlantique Sud127,205 inhabitants21,263 km²
Tucumán1,448,188 inhabitants22,524 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also