Official nameFrench Republic
Name in local languageFrance ; République française (fr)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 21e)67,063,703 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.28 % / year
Area551,695 km²
Density117.63 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 7e)2,715.518 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)40,494 $USD (2019)
GDP growth1.50 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.65 years (2019)
Birth rate11.20 ‰ (2019)
Fertility rate1.87 children / woman (2019)
Death rate (ranking)9.10 ‰ (2019)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.80 ‰ (2019)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2020)
Official languagesFrench
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 40e)0.891 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)83.95 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary senatorial semi‑presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Emmanuel Macron
National Day14 July (French Revolution of 1789)
Tourists (ranking)86,918,000 people (2017)
France – petite

France is a country in Western Europe sharing borders with Belgium and Luxembourg to the north, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and Monaco to the east, Spain and Andorra to the south. Through the Channel Tunnel, it also shares a border with the United Kingdom.
Its population is about 67 million people (2020), of which 64.9 million people live in the metropolitan France, the rest being distributed in overseas departments and regions.
For three decades, the western and southern regions of the country have seen their populations grow much faster than the industrial north and east, in relative decline, with the notable exception of Paris and its concentrated large urban area of approximately 12.5 million inhabitants.

Paris, Tour Eiffel
Paris, Eiffel Tower. Photo: Wladyslaw
Île Vierge, Bretagne, France.
Île Vierge, Brittany, France. Source: Wildlife Archives
France - évolution de la population totale de 1982 à 2016
France: evolution of the total population from 1982 to 2016. Source: Insee
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Paris13,024,518 inhabitants
Lyon2,238,656 inhabitants
Marseille - Aix-en-Provence1,851,736 inhabitants
Lille (French part)1,498,143 inhabitants
Toulouse1,414,936 inhabitants
Bordeaux1,323,402 inhabitants
Nantes983,310 inhabitants
Strasbourg (French part)838,566 inhabitants
Montpellier775,862 inhabitants
Rennes739,974 inhabitants
Grenoble713,291 inhabitants
Rouen699,321 inhabitants
Nice606,494 inhabitants
Toulon561,968 inhabitants
Tours515,076 inhabitants
Nancy511,257 inhabitants
Clermont-Ferrand498,877 inhabitants
Saint-Étienne496,132 inhabitants
Caen467,642 inhabitants
Orléans447,829 inhabitants
Angers429,669 inhabitants
Annemasse (French part of Geneva)421,855 inhabitants
Dijon410,168 inhabitants
Mulhouse409,929 inhabitants
Perpignan409,557 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions and overseas territoriesPopulationArea
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes8,032,377 inhabitants69,711 km²
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté2,783,039 inhabitants47,784 km²
Brittany3,340,379 inhabitants27,208 km²
Centre-Val-de-Loire2,559,073 inhabitants39,151 km²
Corsica344,679 inhabitants8,680 km²
French Guiana290,691 inhabitants83,846 km²
French Polynesia275,918 inhabitants3,792 km²
Grand Est5,511,747 inhabitants57,433 km²
Guadeloupe376,879 inhabitants1,628 km²
Hauts-de-France5,962,662 inhabitants31,813 km²
Île-de-France12,278,210 inhabitants12,011 km²
Martinique358,749 inhabitants1,128 km²
Mayotte279,471 inhabitants375 km²
New Caledonia271,940 inhabitants18,576 km²
Normandy3,303,500 inhabitants29,906 km²
Nouvelle-Aquitaine5,999,982 inhabitants84,061 km²
Occitanie5,924,858 inhabitants72,724 km²
Pays de la Loire3,801,797 inhabitants32,082 km²
Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur5,055,651 inhabitants31,400 km²
Réunion859,959 inhabitants2,512 km²
Saint Barthélemy9,793 inhabitants21 km²
Saint Martin35,746 inhabitants53 km²
Saint Pierre and Miquelon6,008 inhabitants242 km²
Wallis and Futuna14,231 inhabitants142 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also