Official nameKingdom of Spain
Name in local languageReino de España (es)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 30e)47,329,981 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.84 % / year
Area505,992 km²
Density93.54 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 13e)1,426.189 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)30,534 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.60 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)83.40 years (2018)
Birth rate9.02 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate1.33 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)9.06 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)2.67 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate99.76 % (2015)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 40e)0.893 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)78.39 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Felipe VI
National Day12 October (discovery of Americas by Europeans)
Tourists (ranking)82,600,000 people (2018)
Espagne – petite

Spain is a country of Southern and Western Europe. It occupies most of the Iberian Peninsula, which it shares with Portugal. It also shares a mountainous border (Pyrenees) in the north with France, and Andorra, a small landlocked country in between. On the Mediterranean coast, it has two landlocked territories in Morocco, Ceuta and Melilla. It is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the east, and the Atlantic Ocean to the north and west. To the south, it is Africa that faces Gibraltar, the British territory claimed by Spain, and the southern coast of Andalusia, by the Strait of Gibraltar, separating Europe from Africa from only 14 kilometers. Spain also has the Balearic archipelago, east of its Mediterranean coasts, and the Canary Islands archipelago off the coast of Morocco in the Atlantic.

Maison de luxe à Marbella, Espagne
Luxury house in Marbella, Spain. Source: Most Beautiful Spots

Mallorca, Llubí, Spain. Source: Wildlife Archives

Cuatro Torres Business Area - Madrid, Espagne
Cuatro Torres Business Area – Madrid, Spain. Photo: Eurostarshoteles
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Madrid6,475,872 inhabitants
Barcelona5,407,264 inhabitants
Valence2,513,965 inhabitants
Séville1,944,430 inhabitants
Alicante - Elche1,825,389 inhabitants
Málaga - Marbella1,654,895 inhabitants
Murcie - Carthagène1,467,721 inhabitants
Bilbao1,130,819 inhabitants
Asturies (Oviedo - Gijón - Avilés)1,031,909 inhabitants
Saragosse962,718 inhabitants
Palma889,275 inhabitants
Vigo666,292 inhabitants
Cadix - Jerez de la Frontera639,994 inhabitants
Santander580,741 inhabitants
Grenade529,678 inhabitants
Castellón de la Plana496,013 inhabitants
Saint-Sébastien429,512 inhabitants
Tarragone423,360 inhabitants
La Corogne412,523 inhabitants
Valladolid408,647 inhabitants
Cordoue361,880 inhabitants
Pampelune355,577 inhabitants
Gérone336,218 inhabitants
Vitoria-Gasteiz322,978 inhabitants
Algésiras - Gibraltar299,593 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Autonomous communitiesPopulationArea
Andalusia8,409,657 inhabitants87,268 km²
Aragon1,317,076 inhabitants47,719 km²
Asturias1,034,449 inhabitants10,604 km²
Balearic Islands1,150,839 inhabitants4,992 km²
Basque Country2,167,707 inhabitants7,234 km²
Canary Islands2,154,905 inhabitants7,447 km²
Cantabria581,477 inhabitants5,321 km²
Castile and León2,435,797 inhabitants94,223 km²
Castilla-La Mancha2,040,379 inhabitants79,463 km²
Catalonia7,441,176 inhabitants32,114 km²
Ceuta (Autonomous city)85,107 inhabitants19 km²
Extremadura1,077,715 inhabitants41,634 km²
Galicia2,710,607 inhabitants29,574 km²
La Rioja312,647 inhabitants5,045 km²
Madrid6,475,872 inhabitants8,028 km²
Melilla (Autonomous city)85,116 inhabitants13 km²
Murcia1,472,949 inhabitants11,313 km²
Navarre640,502 inhabitants10,391 km²
Valencia4,934,993 inhabitants23,255 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also