Official nameKingdom of Morocco
Name in local languageالمملكة المغربية (ar) ; Royaume du Maroc (fr)
SubcontinentNorth Africa
Population (ranking: 40e)35,481,848 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.25 % / year
Area446,550 km²
Density79.46 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 61e)118.495 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)3,238 $USD (2018)
GDP growth3.00 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)76.50 years (2018)
Birth rate18.80 ‰ (2010)
Fertility rate2.38 children / woman (2018)
Death rate (ranking)5.60 ‰ (2010)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)23.70 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate68.49 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic, Tamazight (French spoken and administrative language)
CurrencyMoroccan dirham (MAD)
HDI (ranking: 161e)0.676 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)63.47 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Mohammed VI
National Day3rd March (feast of the Throne), 9 July (anniversary of the king), 18 November (constitution of 1962)
Tourists (ranking)11,349,000 people (2017)
Maroc – petite

Morocco is a North African state located in the Maghreb. It is mainly covered with large desert areas (Sahara) and mountains (Atlas). It is bathed by both the Mediterranean Sea to the north, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. It shares borders with Algeria to the east and south, and Western Sahara to the south, territory that it occupies illegally (according to the UN) since its independence from Spain. To the north, the Strait of Gibraltar separates it from Spain and Europe.

Maroc - caravane dans le sud Sahara
Caravan in the Sahara, south of Morocco. Photo: Bachmont
Marché Jemma el-Fna, Marrakech, Maroc
Market Jemma el-Fna, Marrakech, Maroc. Photo: Luc Viatour
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Casablanca4,270,750 inhabitants
Rabat2,134,533 inhabitants
Marrakech1,330,468 inhabitants
Fès1,150,131 inhabitants
Agadir1,141,717 inhabitants
Tanger1,065,601 inhabitants
Meknès835,695 inhabitants
Tétouan590,684 inhabitants
Kénitra577,293 inhabitants
Oujda551,767 inhabitants
Safi308,508 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Béni Mellal-Khénifra2,520,776 inhabitants41,033 km²
Casablanca-Settat6,861,739 inhabitants19,448 km²
Dakhla-Oued Ed Dahab142,955 inhabitants130,898 km²
Drâa-Tafilalet1,635,008 inhabitants132,167 km²
Fès-Meknès4,236,892 inhabitants40,075 km²
Guelmim-Oued Noun433,757 inhabitants46,108 km²
Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra367,758 inhabitants140,018 km²
Marrakech-Safi4,520,569 inhabitants39,167 km²
Oriental2,314,346 inhabitants90,127 km²
Rabat-Salé-Kénitra4,580,866 inhabitants18,194 km²
Souss-Massa2,676,847 inhabitants53,789 km²
Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima3,556,729 inhabitants13,712 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also