Official nameKingdom of Belgium
Name in local languageRoyaume de Belgique (fr) ; Koninkrijk België (nl) ; Königreich Belgien (de)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 84e)11,431,406 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth0.49 % / year
Area30,688 km²
Density372.50 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 25e)531.767 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)46,556 $USD (2018)
GDP growth1.40 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)81.50 years (2018)
Birth rate10.50 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate1.64 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)9.60 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.30 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesDutch, French, German
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 26e)0.919 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)77.38 (2018)
GovernmentFederal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Philippe
National Day21 July (Constitutional oath of Leopold I in 1831)
Tourists (ranking)8,358,000 people (2017)
Belgique – petite

Belgium is a country in Western Europe, bordered by France to the south, the Netherlands to the north, Germany and Luxembourg to the east, and the North Sea to the west. It is one of the six founding countries of the European Union and hosts, in its capital Brussels, the main institutions (the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union and the European Commission), as well as those of other international organizations as important as NATO.

Bruxelles - Atomium
Atomium, Brussels
Bruxelles - Grand Place
Grand Place, Brussels
Liège, Belgique
Liège, Belgium
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2014)
Urban areasPopulation
Brussels (Bruxelles - Brussel)2,967,513 inhabitants
Antwerp (Antwerpen - Anvers)1,245,828 inhabitants
Liège (Luik)794,488 inhabitants
Ghent (Gent - Gand)705,949 inhabitants
Charleroi464,703 inhabitants
Namur (Namen)259,022 inhabitants
Mons (Bergen)254,474 inhabitants
Leuven (Louvain)254,396 inhabitants
Brugge (Bruges)253,221 inhabitants
Hasselt-Genk248,651 inhabitants
Kortrijk (Courtrai)235,009 inhabitants
Mechelen (Malines)161,304 inhabitants
Turnhout155,136 inhabitants
Sint-Niklaas (Saint-Nicolas)152,756 inhabitants
Ostend (Ostende - Oostende)129,332 inhabitants
Tournai (Doornik)112,146 inhabitants
Verviers107,139 inhabitants
Roeselare (Roulers)103,301 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Brussels1,208,542 inhabitants162 km²
Flanders6,589,069 inhabitants13,624 km²
Wallonia3,633,795 inhabitants16,901 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also