Official nameGrand Duchy of Luxembourg
Name in local languageGrand-Duché de Luxembourg (fr) ; Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg (lb) ; Großherzogtum Luxemburg (de)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 174e)634,730 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth1.38 % / year
Area2,586 km²
Density245.45 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 74e)71.105 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)114,705 $USD (2019)
GDP growth2.30 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.35 years (2020)
Birth rate10.05 ‰ (2019)
Fertility rate1.37 children / woman (2020)
Death rate (ranking)6.91 ‰ (2019)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)4.50 ‰ (2020)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2021)
Official languagesLuxembourgish, French, German
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 31e)0.916 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)79.12 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateGrand Duke Henri
National Day23 June (Grand Duke's Official Birthday)
DemonymLuxembourgish, Luxembourger
Tourists (ranking)1,018,000 people (2018)
Luxembourg – petite

Luxembourg is a country in Western Europe without access to the sea. It is, after Malta, the smallest of the Member States of the European Union. Located between Belgium to the west and to the north, Germany to the east and France to the south, Luxembourg measures 57 km from west to east, and 82 km from north to south.

Luxembourg, capitale du Luxembourg
Luxembourg, capital of Luxembourg
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Luxembourg482,128 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Capellen47,209 inhabitants199 km²
Clervaux17,631 inhabitants342 km²
Diekirch32,244 inhabitants205 km²
Echternach18,702 inhabitants185 km²
Esch-sur-Alzette172,687 inhabitants243 km²
Grevenmacher29,525 inhabitants211 km²
Luxembourg179,369 inhabitants239 km²
Mersch31,351 inhabitants224 km²
Redange18,351 inhabitants268 km²
Remich21,987 inhabitants128 km²
Vianden5,162 inhabitants79 km²
Wiltz16,449 inhabitants265 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also