Official nameRepublic of Malta
Name in local languageRepubblika ta' Malta (mt) ; Republic of Malta (en)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 180e)446,555 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.39 % / year
Area320 km²
Density1,395.48 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 130e)14.542 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)30,075 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.60 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.40 years (2018)
Birth rate10.10 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.40 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)7.20 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.50 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate94.44 % (2015)
Official languagesMaltese, English (Italian often spoken)
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 44e)0.885 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)80.90 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident George Vella
National Day21 September (independence of 1964)
Tourists (ranking)2,274,000 people (2017)
Malte – petite

Malta is an island state in Europe, the smallest in the European Union. It consists of an archipelago of 8 islands of which 4 are inhabited. Located in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, between southern Sicily in Italy and the Tunisian and Libyan coasts, it is one of the forced passages to the Union of a large number of migrants from all over Africa.

Anchor Bay, Malte
Anchor Bay, Malta
La Valette, capitale de Malte
Valletta, capitale of Malta
La Valette, capitale de Malte
Valletta, capitale of Malta
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
La Valette408,750 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Islands and Regions (Reġjuni)PopulationArea
Centre (Ċentrali)111,994 inhabitants24 km²
Gozo (ta' Għawdex)37,342 inhabitants69 km²
Gozo et Comino (Île)31,683 inhabitants70 km²
Malte (Île)408,750 inhabitants246 km²
Nord - Tramontane (Tramuntana)102,892 inhabitants113 km²
Sud (Nofsinhar)93,897 inhabitants79 km²
Sud-Est (Xlokk)99,301 inhabitants36 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also