Official nameState of Libya
Name in local languageدولة ليبيا (ar)
SubcontinentNorth Africa
Population (ranking: 113e)6,549,402 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.78 % / year
Area1,759,540 km²
Density3.72 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 90e)48.320 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)7,235 $USD (2018)
GDP growth7.80 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)72.70 years (2018)
Birth rate17.80 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.04 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)3.60 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)11.10 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.95 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic, Amazigh
CurrencyLibyan dinar (LYD)
HDI (ranking: 146e)0.708 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)49.79 (2018)
GovernmentParliamentary republic
Head of StateAguila Salah Issa (government of Tobruk) ; Fayez el-Sarraj (Government of National Accord, in Tripoli)
National Day1st September (coup and revolution of 1969)
Libye – petite
A State plunged into chaos

Libya is a country located in North Africa that is part of the Maghreb. It is bordered to the north by the Mediterranean Sea, to the west by Algeria and Tunisia, to the south by Niger and Chad and to the east by Sudan and Egypt. It is composed largely of desert areas, the country lying north of the Sahara Desert. Populations focus on the northern coastal fringe.

Dunes mouvantes, rochers et montagnes dans le Tadrart Acacus, Sahara, sud-ouest de la Libye
Moving dunes, rocks and mountains in the Tadrart Acacus, Sahara, southwest Libya. Photo: Luca Galuzzi
Arche Forzhaga, Tadrart Acacus, Sahara, Libye
Forzhaga Arch, Tadrart Acacus, Sahara, Libya. Photo: Luca Galuzzi
Théâtre antique de Sabratha, Libye
Ancient theater of Sabratha, Libya. Photo: Duimdog
Tripoli, capitale de la Libye
Tripoli, capitale of Libya

The figures presented here are to be taken with caution, because the country is de facto in civil war.

See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Tripoli2,361,811 inhabitants
Benghazi1,368,807 inhabitants
Misrata451,529 inhabitants
El Beïda310,189 inhabitants
Zliten231,184 inhabitants
Khoms218,131 inhabitants
Zaouïa198,567 inhabitants
Zouara192,159 inhabitants
Gharyan187,854 inhabitants
Tobruk157,747 inhabitants
Ajdabiya153,806 inhabitants
Derna150,000 inhabitants
Syrte146,205 inhabitants
Sebha138,231 inhabitants
Sabratah107,912 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Districts (chabiyat) and RegionsPopulationArea
Al Boutnan164,267 inhabitants84,996 km²
Al Djabal al Akhdar210,521 inhabitants11,429 km²
Al Djabal al Gharbi315,685 inhabitants76,717 km²
Al Djfara462,146 inhabitants2,666 km²
Al Djoufrah51,240 inhabitants139,038 km²
Al Marj191,693 inhabitants13,515 km²
Al Mourqoub448,148 inhabitants6,796 km²
Al Wahat179,962 inhabitants108,523 km²
Al-Koufrah46,727 inhabitants433,611 km²
An Nouqat al Khams294,499 inhabitants6,089 km²
Benghazi679,726 inhabitants11,372 km²
Cyrénaïque (Région)1,642,680 inhabitants855,370 km²
Darnah169,784 inhabitants31,511 km²
Fezzan (Région)441,318 inhabitants551,170 km²
Ghat23,304 inhabitants68,482 km²
Misrata558,978 inhabitants29,172 km²
Mourzouq79,224 inhabitants356,308 km²
Nalout95,895 inhabitants67,191 km²
Sebha130,055 inhabitants17,066 km²
Syrte143,982 inhabitants86,399 km²
Tripoli1,089,341 inhabitants835 km²
Tripolitaine (Région)3,704,483 inhabitants353,000 km²
Wadi ach Chatii80,239 inhabitants90,244 km²
Wadi al Hayaat77,256 inhabitants31,485 km²
Zaouïa295,809 inhabitants2,753 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also