Official nameItalian Republic
Name in local languageRepubblica italiana (it)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 24e)58,983,122 inhabitants (2022)
Population growth-0.43 % / year
Area302,072 km²
Density195.26 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 9e)2,099.880 billions $USD (2021)
GDP/capita (ranking)35,551 $USD (2021)
GDP growth6.60 % / year (2021)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.40 years (2020)
Birth rate7.00 ‰ (2020)
Fertility rate1.30 children / woman (2018)
Death rate (ranking)12.00 ‰ (2020)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.30 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.15 % (2015)
Official languagesItalian
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 39e)0.895 / 1 (2021)
EPI (ranking)76.96 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary constitutional parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Sergio Mattarella ; Prime Minister Mario Draghi
National Day2 June (Republic of 1946)
Tourists (ranking)58,253,000 people (2017)
Italie – petite
Italian demographics remain very weak

Italy is a country of Southern Europe. It consists of a peninsula located in the center of the Mediterranean Sea and island parts formed by the two largest islands of this sea, Sicily and Sardinia, and several other smaller islands. It shares borders with France to the north-west, Switzerland and Austria to the north, Slovenia to the north-east. It hosts two small landlocked states: the Vatican, located in the heart of its capital Rome, and San Marino, located in the north-central of the country.

Vignoble du chianti, Toscane, Italie
Chianti winery, Tuscany, Italy. Photo: Francesco Sgroi
Grand Canal, Venise, Italie
Grand Canal, Venice, Italy. Source: Wildlife Archives
Vernazza, Italie
Vernazza, Italy. Source: Most Beautiful Spots
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2014)
Urban areasPopulation
Milan (Milano)8,247,125 inhabitants
Naples (Napoli)4,434,136 inhabitants
Rome (Roma)4,340,474 inhabitants
Turin (Torino)2,282,197 inhabitants
Florence (Firenze)1,558,434 inhabitants
Palerme (Palermo)1,271,406 inhabitants
Brescia1,264,105 inhabitants
Bari1,263,820 inhabitants
Catane (Catania)1,115,535 inhabitants
Bologne (Bologna)1,005,831 inhabitants
Padoue (Padova)936,887 inhabitants
Vérone (Verona)922,383 inhabitants
Trévise (Treviso)885,447 inhabitants
Vicence (Vicenza)867,314 inhabitants
Venise (Venezia)855,696 inhabitants
Gênes (Genova)854,099 inhabitants
Modène (Modena)701,642 inhabitants
Messine (Messina)640,675 inhabitants
Tarente (Taranto)586,061 inhabitants
Cagliari561,289 inhabitants
Reggio de Calabre (Reggio di Calabria)555,836 inhabitants
Reggio d'Émilie (Reggio nell'Emilia)532,872 inhabitants
Parme (Parma)447,779 inhabitants
La Spezia418,725 inhabitants
Brindisi398,661 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Abruzzes1,322,760 inhabitants10,763 km²
Basilicate571,409 inhabitants9,992 km²
Calabre1,966,649 inhabitants15,079 km²
Campanie5,841,750 inhabitants13,590 km²
Émilie-Romagne4,446,929 inhabitants22,446 km²
Frioul-Vénétie julienne1,218,159 inhabitants7,844 km²
Latium5,891,545 inhabitants17,207 km²
Ligurie1,566,307 inhabitants5,421 km²
Lombardie10,011,861 inhabitants23,863 km²
Marches1,539,277 inhabitants9,366 km²
Molise310,850 inhabitants4,438 km²
Ombrie889,695 inhabitants8,456 km²
Piémont4,395,363 inhabitants25,402 km²
Pouilles4,067,294 inhabitants19,358 km²
Sardaigne1,654,796 inhabitants24,090 km²
Sicile5,057,247 inhabitants25,709 km²
Toscane3,742,589 inhabitants22,994 km²
Trentin-Haut-Adige (Région autonome)1,061,046 inhabitants13,607 km²
Vallée d'Aoste126,832 inhabitants3,263 km²
Vénétie4,907,408 inhabitants18,399 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also