Official nameSwiss Confederation
Name in local languageConfédération suisse (fr), Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft (de), Confederazione Svizzera (it), Confederaziun svizra (roh)
SubcontinentEurope (outside the European Union)
Population (ranking: 101e)8,632,703 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.71 % / year
Area41,285 km²
Density209.10 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 20e)705.501 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)82,839 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.50 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)83.60 years (2018)
Birth rate10.50 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate1.55 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)8.20 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.90 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesFrench, German, Italian, Romansh
CurrencySwiss franc (CHF)
HDI (ranking: 9e)0.946 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)87.42 (2018)
GovernmentFederal semi-direct democracy under multi-party parliamentary directorial republic
Head of StatePresident Simonetta Sommaruga
National Day1st August (Federal Charter of 1291)
Tourists (ranking)11,133,000 people (2017)
Switzerland – small
Harmonious economic development and strong immigration

Switzerland is a western European country, landlocked, located in the heart of the Alps. It is bordered on the north by Germany, on the east by Austria and Liechtenstein, on the south by Italy, and on the west by France. This privileged central location places it under the influence of its big neighbors, especially linguistic ones. Indeed, several official languages are spoken: German, French, Italian and Romansh.

Matterhorn, Suisse
Matterhorn, Switzerland. Photo: Most Beautiful Picture
Genève, Suisse
Geneva, Switzerland
Genève, Suisse
Geneva, Switzerland
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Zürich1,315,669 inhabitants
Genève1,028,450 inhabitants
Bâle893,112 inhabitants
Berne406,852 inhabitants
Lausanne402,883 inhabitants
Rheintal334,260 inhabitants
Côme-Chiasso273,801 inhabitants
Lucerne224,720 inhabitants
Lugano175,316 inhabitants
Saint-Gall164,881 inhabitants
Winterthour139,373 inhabitants
Zoug121,269 inhabitants
Constance-Kreuzlingen119,621 inhabitants
Baden-Brugg116,963 inhabitants
Olten-Zofingue110,352 inhabitants
Fribourg104,569 inhabitants
Bienne101,271 inhabitants
Thoune95,245 inhabitants
Vevey-Montreux92,123 inhabitants
Neuchâtel87,641 inhabitants
Aarau87,578 inhabitants
Sion79,746 inhabitants
Soleure75,909 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Aargau678,207 inhabitants1,404 km²
Appenzell Ausserrhoden55,234 inhabitants243 km²
Appenzell Innerrhoden16,145 inhabitants173 km²
Basel-Landschaft288,132 inhabitants518 km²
Basel-Stadt194,766 inhabitants37 km²
Bern1,034,977 inhabitants5,959 km²
Fribourg318,714 inhabitants1,671 km²
Geneva499,480 inhabitants282 km²
Glarus40,403 inhabitants685 km²
Grisons198,379 inhabitants7,105 km²
Jura73,419 inhabitants839 km²
Luzern409,557 inhabitants1,493 km²
Neuchâtel176,850 inhabitants803 km²
Nidwalden43,223 inhabitants276 km²
Obwalden37,841 inhabitants491 km²
Schaffhausen81,991 inhabitants298 km²
Schwyz159,165 inhabitants907 km²
Solothurn273,194 inhabitants790 km²
St. Gallen507,697 inhabitants2,026 km²
Thurgau276,472 inhabitants991 km²
Ticino353,343 inhabitants2,812 km²
Uri36,433 inhabitants1,077 km²
Valais343,955 inhabitants5,224 km²
Vaud799,145 inhabitants3,212 km²
Zug126,837 inhabitants239 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also