Official namePrincipality of Liechtenstein
Name in local languageFürstentum Liechtenstein (de)
SubcontinentEurope (outside the European Union)
Population (ranking: 227e)38,114 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.80 % / year
Area160 km²
Density238.21 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 166e)6.215 billions $USD (2016)
GDP/capita (ranking)165,028 $USD (2016)
GDP growth-1.16 % / year (2016)
Life expectancy (ranking)80.50 years (2018)
Birth rate10.40 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate1.69 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)7.40 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)4.30 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesGerman
CurrencySwiss franc (CHF)
HDI (ranking: 30e)0.917 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)0.00 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StatePrince Hans-Adam II
National Day15 August
Tourists (ranking)79,000 people (2017)
Liechtenstein – petite

Liechtenstein is an alpine country in central (or western) Europe, without access to the sea, bordered by Switzerland to the west and south and by Austria to the east and north. It is one of the smallest countries in Europe, and the world.

Vallée du Liechtenstein
Valley in Liechtenstein
Vaduz, capitale du Liechtenstein
Vaduz, capital city of Liechtenstein
Château de Vaduz, résidence de la famille princière, Liechtenstein
Castle of Vaduz, residence of the princely family, Liechtenstein
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
Vaduz–Buchs (Switzerland)62,810 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Balzers4,590 inhabitants20 km²
Eschen4,385 inhabitants10 km²
Gamprin1,658 inhabitants6 km²
Mauren4,344 inhabitants7 km²
Planken456 inhabitants5 km²
Ruggell2,268 inhabitants7 km²
Schaan6,039 inhabitants27 km²
Schellenberg1,084 inhabitants4 km²
Triesen5,156 inhabitants26 km²
Triesenberg2,608 inhabitants30 km²
Vaduz5,526 inhabitants17 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also