Official nameRepublic of Tunisia
Name in local languageal-Jumhūrīyah at-Tūnisīyah - الجمهورية التونسية (ar) ; République tunisienne (fr)
SubcontinentNorth Africa
Population (ranking: 83e)11,582,075 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.25 % / year
Area162,155 km²
Density71.43 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 99e)39.861 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)3,447 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.50 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)76.50 years (2018)
Birth rate20.00 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.30 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)5.90 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)15.30 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate97.39 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic, French
CurrencyTunisian dinar (TND)
HDI (ranking: 125e)0.739 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)62.35 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Kais Saied
National Day20 March (independence of 1956)
Tourists (ranking)7,052,000 people (2017)
Tunisie – petite
A democracy difficult to build

Tunisia is a state of North Africa, bordered to the north and east by the Mediterranean Sea, to the west by Algeria, and to the south-east by Libya. Its capital Tunis is located in the north-east of the country, at the bottom of the Gulf of Tunis. More than 30% of the territory is occupied by the Sahara Desert, the rest consisting of mountainous regions and fertile plains.

Tourisme en Tunisie
Tourism in Tunisia
Tataouine, Tunisie
Tataouine, Tunisia
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Tunis2,751,341 inhabitants
Sousse - Monastir1,018,607 inhabitants
Sfax527,238 inhabitants
Bizerte401,144 inhabitants
Nabeul - Hammamet239,059 inhabitants
Gabès233,585 inhabitants
Kairouan186,653 inhabitants
Djerba163,726 inhabitants
Gafsa128,971 inhabitants
Médenine109,409 inhabitants
Kasserine108,794 inhabitants
Tataouine95,775 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Governorates (Wilayas)PopulationArea
Ariana599,815 inhabitants482 km²
Béja305,775 inhabitants3,740 km²
Ben Arous648,721 inhabitants761 km²
Bizerte575,012 inhabitants3,750 km²
Gabès378,065 inhabitants7,166 km²
Gafsa341,624 inhabitants7,807 km²
Jendouba403,501 inhabitants3,100 km²
Kairouan574,964 inhabitants6,712 km²
Kasserine443,062 inhabitants8,260 km²
Kébili158,964 inhabitants22,454 km²
Kef244,538 inhabitants5,081 km²
Mahdia413,842 inhabitants2,878 km²
Manouba387,582 inhabitants1,137 km²
Médenine484,604 inhabitants9,167 km²
Monastir560,002 inhabitants1,024 km²
Nabeul803,083 inhabitants2,840 km²
Sfax970,886 inhabitants7,545 km²
Sidi Bouzid434,324 inhabitants7,400 km²
Siliana224,298 inhabitants4,642 km²
Sousse688,992 inhabitants2,669 km²
Tataouine149,867 inhabitants38,889 km²
Tozeur109,771 inhabitants5,593 km²
Tunis1,073,644 inhabitants288 km²
Zaghouan179,436 inhabitants2,820 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also