Official nameRepublic of Turkey
Name in local languageTürkiye Cumhuriyeti (tr)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 18e)82,003,882 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.47 % / year
Area783,562 km²
Density104.66 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 19e)766.509 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)9,311 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.60 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)77.40 years (2018)
Birth rate16.90 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate2.14 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)4.90 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)10.80 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate99.48 % (2015)
Official languagesTurkish
CurrencyTurkish lira (₺ TRY)
HDI (ranking: 84e)0.806 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)52.96 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Recep Tayyip Erdoğan
National Day29 October (Fall of the Ottoman Empire in 1923 and Declaration of Republic)
Tourists (ranking)45,628,673 people (2018)
Turquie – petite

Turkey is a transcontinental country located on the borders of Asia and Europe. It has borders with Greece, Bulgaria, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan (Nakhchivan), Iran, Iraq and Syria. It is bordered on the north by the Black Sea, on the west by the Aegean Sea and on the south by the eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea. Eastern Thrace, the European part of the country, and Anatolia (Asia) are separated by the Sea of Marmara and the Straits of the Bosphorus (or Istanbul Strait) to the east and the Dardanelles to the west. Turkey is a parliamentary republic, its official language is Turkish and its capital is Ankara.

Mont Ararat, Turquie
Mount Ararat, Turkey. Photo: Serouj Ourishian

Pamukkale. Source: Wildlife Archives

Istanbul, Turquie
Istanbul, Turkey
Bosphore, Istanbul, Turquie
Bosphorus, Istanbul, Turkey
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Istanbul15,067,724 inhabitants
Ankara5,503,985 inhabitants
Izmir (İzmir ; Smyrna)4,320,519 inhabitants
Adana-Mersin3,975,522 inhabitants
Bursa2,994,521 inhabitants
Antalya2,426,356 inhabitants
Konya2,161,303 inhabitants
Gaziantep1,974,244 inhabitants
Sanliurfa (Şanlıurfa ; Urfa)1,940,627 inhabitants
Izmit (İzmit ; Kocaeli)1,830,772 inhabitants
Diyarbakir (Diyarbakır)1,673,119 inhabitants
Antakya (Antioch)1,555,165 inhabitants
Manisa1,396,945 inhabitants
Kayseri1,358,980 inhabitants
Samsun1,295,927 inhabitants
Balikesir (Balıkesir)1,196,176 inhabitants
Kahramanmaras (Kahramanmaraş)1,112,634 inhabitants
Van1,100,190 inhabitants
Aydin (Aydın)1,068,260 inhabitants
Adapazari (Adapazarı)976,948 inhabitants
Eskisehir (Eskişehir)844,842 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions and ProvincesPopulationArea
Adana2,220,125 inhabitants14,046 km²
Adıyaman624,513 inhabitants7,606 km²
Aegean (Ege) (Region)10,514,200 inhabitants93,139 km²
Afyonkarahisar (Afyon)725,568 inhabitants14,719 km²
Ağrı539,657 inhabitants11,499 km²
Aksaray412,172 inhabitants7,966 km²
Amasya337,508 inhabitants5,704 km²
Ankara5,503,985 inhabitants25,402 km²
Antalya2,426,356 inhabitants20,791 km²
Ardahan98,907 inhabitants4,968 km²
Artvin174,010 inhabitants7,367 km²
Aydın1,097,746 inhabitants7,904 km²
Balıkesir1,226,575 inhabitants14,473 km²
Bartın198,999 inhabitants2,080 km²
Batman599,103 inhabitants4,659 km²
Bayburt82,274 inhabitants3,739 km²
Bilecik223,448 inhabitants4,307 km²
Bingöl281,205 inhabitants8,254 km²
Bitlis349,396 inhabitants7,094 km²
Black Sea (Karadeniz) (Region)7,973,211 inhabitants143,537 km²
Bolu311,810 inhabitants8,323 km²
Burdur269,926 inhabitants7,135 km²
Bursa2,994,521 inhabitants10,886 km²
Çanakkale540,662 inhabitants9,950 km²
Çankırı216,362 inhabitants7,492 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also