Official nameRepublic of Armenia
Name in local languageՀայաստանի Հանրապետություն (Hayastani Hanrapetut'yun) (hy)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 140e)2,959,245 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth-0.21 % / year
Area29,743 km²
Density99.49 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 145e)12.433 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)4,212 $USD (2018)
GDP growth5.20 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)74.90 years (2018)
Birth rate12.20 ‰ (2019)
Fertility rate1.60 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)8.90 ‰ (2019)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)6.20 ‰ (2019)
Literacy rate99.65 % (2015)
Official languagesArmenian
CurrencyDram (֏ AMD)
HDI (ranking: 114e)0.760 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)62.07 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Armen Sarkissian
National Day21 September (independence of 1991)
Tourists (ranking)1,894,377 people (2019)
Arménie – petite
A slowly declining population

Armenia is a West Asian state, without access to the sea, located in the Lesser Caucasus. This former Soviet Socialist Republic has land borders with Turkey to the west, Georgia to the north, Azerbaijan to the east and iran to the south. Although geographically located in Asia, Armenia is considered to be culturally, historically and politically part of Europe, or even geographically at its edge.

Mont Ararat vu depuis Erevan, capitale de l'Arménie
Mount Ararat (located in Turkey) seen from Yerevan, capital of Armenia. Photo: Serouj Ourishian
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Yerevan1,980,000 inhabitants
Gyumri135,400 inhabitants
Vanadzor126,000 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions (Marzer)PopulationArea
Aragatsotn129,825 inhabitants2,753 km²
Ararat258,867 inhabitants2,096 km²
Armavir266,570 inhabitants1,242 km²
Chirak (Shirak)243,241 inhabitants2,681 km²
Erevan1,073,738 inhabitants227 km²
Gégharkounik231,775 inhabitants5,348 km²
Kotayk253,897 inhabitants2,089 km²
Lorri225,037 inhabitants3,789 km²
Siounie (Syunik)139,371 inhabitants4,506 km²
Tavouch (Tavush)125,509 inhabitants2,704 km²
Vayots Dzor50,824 inhabitants2,308 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also