Official nameGeorgia
Name in local languageსაქართველო (ka)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 135e)3,729,631 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.31 % / year
Area57,178 km²
Density65.23 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 126e)16.210 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)4,345 $USD (2018)
GDP growth4.70 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)73.60 years (2018)
Birth rate15.20 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.82 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)13.70 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)9.00 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.79 % (2015)
Official languagesGeorgian, Abkhazian
CurrencyGeorgian lari (₾ GEL)
HDI (ranking: 98e)0.786 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)55.69 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Salomé Zourabichvili
National Day23 November (Saint George's Day)
Tourists (ranking)3,479,000 people (2017)
Géorgie – petite

Georgia is a Western Asian country located on the coast of the Black Sea in the Caucasus, straddling Eastern Europe and Asia. It is often considered to be culturally, historically and politically speaking part of Europe, while being geographically, physically in West Asia. It is surrounded by Russia to the north, Azerbaijan to the east, Armenia and Turkey to the south. Two regions of the country, Abkhazia and South Ossetia, unilaterally declared their independence with the military help of Russia.

Batoumi, sur la mer Noire, Géorgie
Batumi, on the Black Sea, Georgia. Photo: Jagermesh
Tbilissi, capitale de la Géorgie
Tbilisi, capitale of Georgia. Photo: Vladimer Shioshvili
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Tbilissi1,503,188 inhabitants
Koutaïssi202,867 inhabitants
Batoumi177,690 inhabitants
Gori48,810 inhabitants
Zougdidi42,698 inhabitants
Poti41,502 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions (Mkhare), Autonomous RepublicsPopulationArea
Adjarie (République autonome)337,077 inhabitants2,900 km²
Basse Kartlie426,386 inhabitants6,436 km²
Gourie113,000 inhabitants2,033 km²
Iméréthie532,952 inhabitants6,415 km²
Kakhétie318,444 inhabitants11,375 km²
Kartlie intérieure263,833 inhabitants3,428 km²
Mingrélie-et-Haute-Svanétie329,745 inhabitants7,468 km²
Mtskheta-Mtianeti94,170 inhabitants5,606 km²
Ratcha-Letchkhoumie et Basse Svanétie31,527 inhabitants4,600 km²
Samtskhé-Djavakhétie160,462 inhabitants6,413 km²
Tbilissi (Ville)1,113,035 inhabitants504 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also