Official nameRepublic of Azerbaijan
Name in local languageAzərbaycan Respublikası (az)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 93e)10,095,894 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.29 % / year
Area86,573 km²
Density116.62 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 91e)46.940 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)4,721 $USD (2018)
GDP growth1.40 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)72.90 years (2018)
Birth rate16.20 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.10 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)5.70 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)11.00 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate99.96 % (2015)
Official languagesAzerbaijani
CurrencyManat (₼ AZN)
HDI (ranking: 118e)0.754 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)62.33 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Ilham Aliyev
National Day18 October (independence of 1991)
Tourists (ranking)2,454,000 people (2017)
Azerbaïdjan – petite

Azerbaijan is a Caucasian country located on the dividing line between Europe and Asia. Formerly a Soviet republic, it shares land borders with Armenia, Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh) and Turkey to the west, Georgia to the northwest, Russia to the north, and Iran to the south.

Bakou, capitale de l'Azerbaïdjan
Baku, capitale of Azerbaijan, with the Flame Towers
Bakou, capitale de l'Azerbaïdjan
Baku, capitale of Azerbaijan
Bakou, capitale de l'Azerbaïdjan
Baku, capitale of Azerbaijan
Azerbaïdjan - plateforme pétrolière offshore
Azerbaijan – offshore oil rig
Montagnes en Azerbaïdjan
Mountains in Azerbaijan
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Baku2,836,085 inhabitants
Gandja330,100 inhabitants
Lankaran223,100 inhabitants
Shaki182,700 inhabitants
Yevlakh125,700 inhabitants
Mingachevir102,437 inhabitants
Nakhitchevan91,100 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions and Autonomous RepublicPopulationArea
Absheron (Abşeron)557,800 inhabitants3,730 km²
Aran1,961,400 inhabitants21,150 km²
Bakou2,225,800 inhabitants2,140 km²
Chaki-Zaqatala (Şəki-Zaqatala)606,100 inhabitants8,840 km²
Chirvan (Şirvan)308,200 inhabitants6,130 km²
Gandja-Qazax1,253,400 inhabitants12,300 km²
Kelbadjar-Latchin (Kəlbəcər-Laçın) (Occupé militairement par l'Arménie)247,900 inhabitants6,420 km²
Lankaran (Lənkəran)905,900 inhabitants6,070 km²
Nakhitchevan (République autonome)444,400 inhabitants5,503 km²
Quba-Xaçmaz532,600 inhabitants6,960 km²
Yukhari-Haut-Karabakh (Indépendant sous le nom Artsakh)662,100 inhabitants7,330 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also