Official nameRepublic of Abkhazia
Name in local languageАҧсны Аҳәынҭқарра (ab) ; აფხაზეთი (ka) ; Республика Абхазия (ru)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 194e)246,313 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.49 % / year
Area8,653 km²
Density28.47 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 225e)0.336 billions $USD (2017)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,372 $USD (2017)
GDP growth4.80 % / year (2017)
Life expectancy0.00 years (2018)
Birth rateunknown
Fertility rateunknown
Death rateunknown
Infant mortality rateunknown
Literacy rateunknown
Official languagesAbkhaz, Russian
CurrencyAbkhazian apsar, Russian ruble (₽ RUB)
EPI (ranking)unknown
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Raul Khajimba
National Day23 July (independence of 1992)
ISO Codes,
DemonymAbkhaz, Abkhazian
Tourists (ranking)1,000,000 people (2017)

Abkhazia is a de facto and partially recognized republic located on the eastern coast of the Black Sea, south of the Greater Caucasus mountains, in northwestern Georgia. Its capital is Sukhumi.

Mount Agepsta, Abhkazia
Mount Agepsta, Abhkazia

The separatist Abkhazian polity, formally the Republic of Abkhazia is only recognized as a state by RussiaVenezuelaNicaraguaNauru, Vanuatu and Syria. While Georgia lacks control over Abkhazia, the Georgian government and most United Nations member states legally consider Abkhazia part of Georgia, whose constitution designates the area as the Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia.

See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Soukhoumi86,699 inhabitants
See all urban areas
See also