Official nameSyrian Arab Republic
Name in local languageالجمهوريّة العربيّة السّوريّة ; Al-Jumhūriyyah al-‘Arabīyyah as-Sūriyyah (ar)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 56e)25,297,296 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.50 % / year
Area185,180 km²
Density136.61 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 126e)17.131 billions $USD (2017)
GDP/capita (ranking)2,835 $USD (2017)
GDP growth38.60 % / year (2017)
Life expectancy (ranking)71.80 years (2018)
Birth rate21.70 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.55 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)6.51 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)15.20 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate86.43 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic
CurrencySyrian pound (£ SYP)
HDI (ranking: 193e)0.549 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)66.91 (2016)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic. Dictatorship
Head of StatePresident Bashar al-Assad
National DayApril, 17 (departure of French in 1946)
Tourists (ranking)3,159,187 people (2011)
Syrie – petite
Very old civilization, Syria is now in the grip of civil war

Syria is a country located in West Asia (Middle East) on the eastern coast of the Mediterranean Sea. It shares borders with Turkey to the north, Iraq to the east, Jordan and Israel to the south, and Lebanon to the west. Part of Kurdistan is on its territory in the north-east of the country.

Palmyre, Syrie
Palmyra, Syria
Krak des Chevaliers, Syrie
Krak des Chevaliers, Syria
Place des Omeyyades à Damas, Syrie
Place of the Umayyad in Damascus, Syria. Photo: Bernard Gagnon
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Damas3,688,278 inhabitants
Alep1,740,622 inhabitants
Hama1,236,854 inhabitants
Lattaquié781,119 inhabitants
Deir ez-Zor272,929 inhabitants
Homs245,752 inhabitants
Raqqa191,784 inhabitants
al-Bab152,013 inhabitants
Idleb149,868 inhabitants
as-Safirah (Sfireh)111,925 inhabitants
Salamyeh106,132 inhabitants
Tartous94,707 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Alep4,600,166 inhabitants18,500 km²
Damas2,211,042 inhabitants1,599 km²
Deir ez-Zor1,200,500 inhabitants33,060 km²
Deraa998,000 inhabitants3,730 km²
Hama1,593,000 inhabitants8,883 km²
Hassaké1,272,702 inhabitants23,334 km²
Homs1,762,500 inhabitants42,223 km²
Idleb1,464,000 inhabitants6,097 km²
Kuneitra87,000 inhabitants1,861 km²
Lattaquié1,278,486 inhabitants2,297 km²
Raqqa919,000 inhabitants19,616 km²
Rif Dimachq2,831,738 inhabitants18,032 km²
Soueïda (As-Suwayda)364,000 inhabitants5,550 km²
Tartous785,000 inhabitants1,892 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also