Official nameRepublic of Bulgaria
Name in local languageРепублика България (bg) ; Republika Bǎlgarija (bg)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 108e)7,050,034 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth-0.74 % / year
Area110,912 km²
Density63.56 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 76e)65.133 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)9,273 $USD (2018)
GDP growth3.10 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)74.90 years (2018)
Birth rate9.10 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.54 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)15.10 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)6.50 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate98.00 % (2015)
Official languagesBulgarian
CurrencyLev (BGN)
HDI (ranking: 75e)0.816 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)67.85 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Rumen Radev
National Day22 September (independence of 1908)
Tourists (ranking)8,883,000 people (2017)
Bulgarie – petite

Bulgaria is a country in South-Eastern Europe located in the Balkan Peninsula. It covers part of the territory of ancient Thrace. It is bordered by the Black Sea to the east. It shares borders with Greece and Turkey to the south, Romania to the north, Serbia and Macedonia to the west. Its capital and largest urban area is Sofia.

Karandila, Sliven, Bulgarie
Karandila, Sliven, Bulgaria. Photo: Evgeni Dinev
Sofia, capitale de la Bulgarie
Sofia, capital of the Bulgaria. Photo: Tsvetan Bondzhov
Plovdiv, Bulgarie
Plovdiv, Bulgaria. Photo: Al Di
Les 7 lacs du Rila, Bulgarie
The 7 lakes of the Rila, Bulgaria
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Sofia1,681,592 inhabitants
Plovdiv592,262 inhabitants
Varna401,232 inhabitants
Burgas259,539 inhabitants
Ruse180,442 inhabitants
Stara Zagora158,262 inhabitants
Pleven151,694 inhabitants
Veliko Tarnovo142,723 inhabitants
Pazardzhik133,619 inhabitants
Sliven120,635 inhabitants
Dobrich106,284 inhabitants
Shumen89,092 inhabitants
Haskovo88,471 inhabitants
Blagoevgrad75,862 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Oblasti (districts)PopulationArea
Blagoevgrad310,321 inhabitants6,478 km²
Burgas412,684 inhabitants7,618 km²
Dobrich178,438 inhabitants4,700 km²
Gabrovo112,334 inhabitants2,053 km²
Haskovo233,415 inhabitants4,033 km²
Kardzhali150,837 inhabitants4,032 km²
Kyustendil123,431 inhabitants3,027 km²
Lovech129,222 inhabitants4,134 km²
Montana134,669 inhabitants3,595 km²
Pazardzhik260,814 inhabitants4,393 km²
Pernik123,770 inhabitants2,377 km²
Pleven248,138 inhabitants4,216 km²
Plovdiv671,573 inhabitants5,588 km²
Razgrad115,402 inhabitants2,648 km²
Ruse223,489 inhabitants2,616 km²
Shumen174,476 inhabitants3,365 km²
Silistra111,957 inhabitants2,862 km²
Sliven189,788 inhabitants3,646 km²
Smolyan109,425 inhabitants3,532 km²
Sofia234,185 inhabitants7,277 km²
Sofia-city1,323,637 inhabitants1,119 km²
Stara Zagora321,377 inhabitants4,959 km²
Targovishte113,694 inhabitants2,735 km²
Varna472,654 inhabitants3,847 km²
Veliko Tarnovo242,259 inhabitants4,684 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also