Official nameHellenic Republic
Name in local languageΕλληνική Δημοκρατία (el)
SubcontinentEuropean Union
Population (ranking: 86e)10,752,660 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth-0.14 % / year
Area132,049 km²
Density81.43 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 52e)218.032 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)20,324 $USD (2018)
GDP growth1.90 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)81.10 years (2015)
Birth rate8.48 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate1.30 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)11.16 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.96 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate99.67 % (2015)
Official languagesGreek (french and english often spoken)
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 47e)0.870 / 1 (2017)
EPI (ranking)73.60 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Prokópis Pavlópoulos
National Day25 March (Independence declared from the Ottoman Empire in 1821)
Tourists (ranking)27,194,000 people (2017)
Grèce – petite

Greece is a Southern European state, member of the European Union, located in the extreme south of the Balkans. It shares borders with Albania, North Macedonia, Bulgaria and Turkey. The Ionian Sea to the west and the Aegean Sea to the east, parts of the Mediterranean Sea, surround the country, one-fifth of which is made up of more than 9,000 islands and islets, of which about 200 are inhabited. 80% of the country’s territory consists of mountains, the highest of which is the famous Mount Olympus (2,904 meters).

Santorin, Grèce
Santorini, Greece. Photo: Most Beautiful Spots
Acropole, Athènes, Grèce
Acropolis, Athens, Greece
Ioannina, Grèce
Ioannina, Greece. Photo: Menelaos Sykovelis
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Athens3,781,274 inhabitants
Thessaloniki1,109,969 inhabitants
Héraklion311,096 inhabitants
Patras305,183 inhabitants
Larissa283,727 inhabitants
Chalcis213,046 inhabitants
Vólos205,295 inhabitants
Ioannina168,169 inhabitants
La Canée (Chaniá)158,765 inhabitants
Corfou103,066 inhabitants
Rhodes86,199 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Peripheries (Regions)PopulationArea
Attique3,781,274 inhabitants3,814 km²
Crète631,812 inhabitants8,340 km²
Égée-Méridionale334,791 inhabitants5,305 km²
Égée-Septentrionale196,654 inhabitants3,854 km²
Épire336,834 inhabitants9,164 km²
Grèce-Centrale555,830 inhabitants15,561 km²
Grèce-Occidentale668,258 inhabitants11,327 km²
Îles Ioniennes206,141 inhabitants2,306 km²
Macédoine-Centrale1,883,339 inhabitants19,166 km²
Macédoine-Occidentale273,843 inhabitants9,471 km²
Macédoine-Orientale-et-Thrace604,504 inhabitants14,179 km²
Mont-Athos (République monastique autonome)1,811 inhabitants336 km²
Péloponnèse581,026 inhabitants15,511 km²
Thessalie729,442 inhabitants14,051 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also