Official nameRepublic of Albania
Name in local languageRepublika e Shqipërisë (sq)
SubcontinentEurope (outside the European Union)
Population (ranking: 141e)2,870,324 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth-0.22 % / year
Area28,748 km²
Density99.84 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 130e)15.059 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)5,254 $USD (2018)
GDP growth4.00 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)78.55 years (2017)
Birth rate11.00 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.51 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)7.40 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)8.00 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate99.03 % (2015)
Official languagesAlbanian
CurrencyLek (ALL)
HDI (ranking: 96e)0.791 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)65.46 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Ilir Meta
National Day28 November (independence of 1912)
Tourists (ranking)5,375,174 people (2017)
Albanie – petite
A developing country on the doorstep of the European Union

Albania is a state located in Southern Europe, in the western part of the Balkan Peninsula. It lies at the edge of the Adriatic Sea and the Ionian Sea. It has common borders with Montenegro to the north, Kosovo to the northeast, Macedonia to the east, and Greece to the south.

Vlora, Albanie
Vlora, Albania
Tirana, capitale de l'Albanie
Tirana, capital of Albania. Photo: Albinfo
Plage de Gjipe, Albanie
Beach of Gjipe, Albania. Photo: Marcin Szala
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
Tirana - Durrës1,173,624 inhabitants
Elbasan141,714 inhabitants
Shkodra (Shkodër)135,612 inhabitants
Vlora (Vlorë)130,827 inhabitants
Fier (Fieri)120,655 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Counties (Prefekturë)PopulationArea
Berat127,431 inhabitants1,798 km²
Dibër120,978 inhabitants2,586 km²
Durrës289,628 inhabitants766 km²
Elbasan278,547 inhabitants3,199 km²
Fier298,144 inhabitants1,891 km²
Gjirokastër62,952 inhabitants2,884 km²
Korçë210,178 inhabitants3,710 km²
Kukës77,394 inhabitants2,373 km²
Lezhë126,800 inhabitants1,620 km²
Shkodër204,994 inhabitants3,561 km²
Tirana883,996 inhabitants1,653 km²
Vlorë189,282 inhabitants2,706 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also