Official nameMontenegro
Name in local languageCrna Gora (sr) ; Црна Гора (sr)
SubcontinentEurope (outside the European Union)
Population (ranking: 175e)622,359 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.00 % / year
Area13,812 km²
Density45.06 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 174e)5.452 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)8,761 $USD (2018)
GDP growth4.90 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)76.80 years (2018)
Birth rate12.20 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.80 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)10.40 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.40 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.15 % (2015)
Official languagesMontenegrin
CurrencyEuro (€ EUR)
HDI (ranking: 76e)0.816 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)61.33 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party parliamentary constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Milo Đukanović
National Day21 May (independence of 2006)
Tourists (ranking)1,877,212 people (2017)
Monténégro – petite

Montenegro is a Balkan country located in Southern Europe, bordered by the Adriatic Sea and bordering Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo and Albania.

Sveti Stefan, Budva, Monténégro
Sveti Stefan, near Budva, Montenegro. Photo: LeCardinal

Independent since June 4, 2006, Montenegro has invented a future outside Serbia, to which it belonged until then. Despite the poverty that affects a large number of inhabitants, the country’s economy has assets: aluminum, mining, tourism and agri-food. Tourism has been growing strongly in recent years, with the Adriatic coast experiencing a particularly favorable climate throughout the year.

Les îlots de Saint-Georges et Notre-Dame du-Récif, dans les bouches de Kotor, Monténégro
Small islands in the Mouths of Kotor, Montenegro. Photo: LeCardinal
Podgorica, capitale du Monténégro
Podgorica, capitale of Montenegro. Photo: Nije bitno
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Podgorica197,429 inhabitants
Nikšić55,516 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Municipalities (Opština)PopulationArea
Andrijevica4,942 inhabitants283 km²
Bar43,522 inhabitants598 km²
Berane27,513 inhabitants544 km²
Bijelo Polje44,012 inhabitants924 km²
Budva20,575 inhabitants122 km²
Cetinje15,837 inhabitants899 km²
Danilovgrad18,336 inhabitants501 km²
Gusinje3,985 inhabitants486 km²
Herceg Novi30,690 inhabitants235 km²
Kolašin7,704 inhabitants897 km²
Kotor22,634 inhabitants335 km²
Mojkovac8,057 inhabitants367 km²
Nikšić70,596 inhabitants2,065 km²
Petnjica5,189 inhabitants173 km²
Plav8,693 inhabitants486 km²
Pljevlja28,586 inhabitants1,346 km²
Plužine2,800 inhabitants854 km²
Podgorica195,718 inhabitants1,399 km²
Rožaje23,180 inhabitants432 km²
Šavnik1,798 inhabitants553 km²
Tivat14,572 inhabitants46 km²
Ulcinj20,098 inhabitants255 km²
Žabljak3,264 inhabitants445 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also