Official nameCommonwealth of Australia
Name in local languageCommonwealth of Australia (en)
Population (ranking: 56e)25,105,503 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.60 % / year
Area7,688,485 km²
Density3.27 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 13e)1,432.195 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)57,305 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.80 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)83.30 years (2018)
Birth rate12.80 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.79 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)6.50 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)3.10 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2018)
Official languagesEnglish
CurrencyAustralian dollar ($ AUD)
HDI (ranking: 14e)0.938 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)74.12 (2018)
GovernmentFederal parliamentary representative democracy under constitutional monarchy
Head of StateQueen Elizabeth II ; Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove
National Day26 January (arrival of the first English in Sydney in 1788)
Tourists (ranking)8,815,000 people (2017)
Australie – petite
A Continent Island

Australia is a huge country in the southern hemisphere whose area covers most of Oceania. In addition to the island of the same name, Australia also includes Tasmania as well as other islands of the Southern Pacific and Indian Oceans. Neighboring nations include Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and the French territory of New Caledonia to the northeast, New Zealand to the southeast, and the French territory of the Kerguelen Islands (TAAF) west of the Australian islands Heard and McDonald.

Ayers Rock, Australie.
Ayers Rock/Uluru, Australia. Source: Most Beautiful Spots
Sydney : Opéra et Harbour Bridge
Sydney: Opera House and Harbour Bridge
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Sydney5,131,326 inhabitants
Melbourne4,850,740 inhabitants
Brisbane2,408,223 inhabitants
Perth2,043,138 inhabitants
Adelaide1,333,927 inhabitants
Gold Coast648,068 inhabitants
Newcastle568,307 inhabitants
Canberra447,519 inhabitants
Sunshine Coast341,054 inhabitants
Central Coast333,119 inhabitants
Wollongong300,094 inhabitants
Geelong273,951 inhabitants
Cairns244,052 inhabitants
Townsville238,233 inhabitants
Hobart226,884 inhabitants
Toowoomba152,245 inhabitants
Darwin146,612 inhabitants
Bunbury129,639 inhabitants
Mackay123,724 inhabitants
Bendigo108,437 inhabitants
Fraser Coast101,977 inhabitants
Ballarat101,578 inhabitants
Bundaberg94,380 inhabitants
Albury - Wodonga90,281 inhabitants
Alice Springs27,972 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
States and TerritoriesPopulationArea
Australian Capital Territory410,301 inhabitants2,358 km²
New South Wales7,861,068 inhabitants800,809 km²
Northern Territory246,105 inhabitants1,353,164 km²
Queensland4,928,457 inhabitants1,725,826 km²
South Australia1,723,548 inhabitants984,180 km²
Tasmania520,877 inhabitants68,018 km²
Victoria6,323,606 inhabitants227,496 km²
Western Australia2,580,354 inhabitants2,526,418 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also