East Timor

Official nameDemocratic Republic of Timor-Leste
Name in local languageRepública Democrática de Timor-Leste (pt) ; Repúblika Demokrátika Timór-Leste (tet)
SubcontinentSoutheast Asia
Population (ranking: 163e)1,261,407 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.60 % / year
Area14,954 km²
Density84.35 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 188e)2.581 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)2,036 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.80 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)69.30 years (2018)
Birth rate36.02 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate4.90 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)9.14 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)36.30 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate82.24 % (2015)
Official languagesTetum, Portuguese
CurrencyUnited States Dollar ($ USD)
HDI (ranking: 170e)0.626 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)49.54 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Francisco Guterres
National Day28 November (independence declared in 1975)
DemonymEast Timorese
Tourists (ranking)74,000 people (2017)
Timor oriental – petite
A difficult independence

East Timor (or Timor-Leste) is a country in Southeast Asia. It consists of the eastern half of the island of Timor, and the Oecusse, an enclave located in the western part of the island of Timor, surrounded by West Timor under Indonesian sovereignty, as well as the islands of Atauro and Jaco. The country is surrounded by Indonesia, just north of Australia. The capital of East Timor is Dili.

Dili, capitale du Timor oriental
Dili, capitale of East Timor. Photo: GG Travelblog
Plage au Timor oriental
Beach in East Timor
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Dili277,279 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Aileu48,837 inhabitants676 km²
Ainaro63,136 inhabitants870 km²
Baucau123,203 inhabitants1,508 km²
Bobonaro97,762 inhabitants1,381 km²
Cova Lima65,301 inhabitants1,207 km²
Dili277,279 inhabitants368 km²
Ermera125,702 inhabitants771 km²
Lautém65,240 inhabitants1,813 km²
Liquiçá71,927 inhabitants551 km²
Manatuto46,619 inhabitants1,786 km²
Manufahi53,691 inhabitants1,327 km²
Oecusse68,913 inhabitants817 km²
Viqueque76,033 inhabitants1,880 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also