Official nameRepublic of Indonesia
Name in local languageRepublik Indonesia (id)
SubcontinentSoutheast Asia
Population (ranking: 4e)268,674,755 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.36 % / year
Area1,913,579 km²
Density140.40 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 16e)1,042.173 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)3,894 $USD (2018)
GDP growth5.20 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)71.50 years (2018)
Birth rate16.40 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.13 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)6.40 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)23.50 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate99.72 % (2015)
Official languagesIndonesian
CurrencyIndonesian rupiah (IDR)
HDI (ranking: 147e)0.707 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)46.92 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Joko Widodo
National DayAugust 17 (independence proclaimed in 1945, recognized in 1949)
Tourists (ranking)15,806,191 people (2018)
Indonésie – petite

Indonesia is a transcontinental country of Southeast Asia and Oceania. It is the largest archipelago in the world, with 16,056 islands (officially in 2017), of which 6,000 are inhabited. All the islands of this immense archipelagic state have not yet been inventoried, let alone named. It is estimated that there would be about 18,000 in all, and the country is doing its utmost to complete the census by the end of 2018, as required by the United Nations.
Indonesia is the junction between Southeast Asia and Australia in Oceania. It shares maritime and land borders with Malaysia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea, maritime with Singapore, the Philippines, and Australia.

Jakarta, capitale de l'Indonésie
Jakarta, capital city of Indonesia and one of the largest cities in the world
Indonésie - Mont Bromo
Indonesia – Semeru and Bromo Mountains in East Java, witnessing volcanic activity on the Island. Photo: Thomas Hirsch
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Jakarta (Jabodetabek)35,143,473 inhabitants
Surabaya (Gerbangkertosusila)13,319,229 inhabitants
Bandung8,767,734 inhabitants
Semarang7,242,987 inhabitants
Surakarta5,984,519 inhabitants
Medan5,189,241 inhabitants
Yogyakarta4,010,436 inhabitants
Malang2,795,209 inhabitants
Palembang2,541,847 inhabitants
Cirebon2,541,830 inhabitants
Macassar (Ujung Pandang)2,225,048 inhabitants
Denpasar2,223,070 inhabitants
Banjarmasin1,904,427 inhabitants
Bandar Lampung1,482,960 inhabitants
Batam1,336,252 inhabitants
Mataram1,265,090 inhabitants
Tegal1,233,433 inhabitants
Samarinda1,037,300 inhabitants
Padang1,000,096 inhabitants
Balikpapan852,046 inhabitants
Banda Aceh513,698 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Aceh5,255,490 inhabitants57,956 km²
Bali4,270,713 inhabitants5,780 km²
Banten12,621,052 inhabitants9,663 km²
Bengkulu1,950,395 inhabitants19,919 km²
Gorontalo1,220,247 inhabitants11,257 km²
Îles Bangka Belitung (Kepulauan Bangka Belitung)1,448,167 inhabitants16,424 km²
Îles Riau (Kepulauan Riau)2,136,364 inhabitants8,202 km²
Jakarta10,553,117 inhabitants664 km²
Jambi3,552,040 inhabitants50,058 km²
Java central (Jawa Tengah)34,359,260 inhabitants32,801 km²
Java occidental (Jawa Barat)48,412,614 inhabitants35,378 km²
Java oriental (Jawa Timur)39,434,273 inhabitants47,800 km²
Kalimantan central (Kalimantan Tengah)2,705,752 inhabitants153,565 km²
Kalimantan du Nord (Kalimantan Utara)827,587 inhabitants75,468 km²
Kalimantan du Sud (Kalimantan Selatan)4,165,842 inhabitants38,744 km²
Kalimantan occidental (Kalimantan Barat)4,977,277 inhabitants147,307 km²
Kalimantan oriental (Kalimantan Timur)3,822,145 inhabitants129,067 km²
Lampung8,345,645 inhabitants34,624 km²
Moluques (Maluku)1,760,308 inhabitants46,914 km²
Moluques du Nord (Maluku Utara)1,314,647 inhabitants31,983 km²
Papouasie (Papua)3,306,386 inhabitants319,036 km²
Papouasie occidentale (Papua Barat)930,150 inhabitants99,672 km²
Petites îles de la Sonde occidentales (Nusa Tenggara Barat)4,991,094 inhabitants18,572 km²
Petites îles de la Sonde orientales (Nusa Tenggara Timur)5,631,675 inhabitants48,718 km²
Riau6,769,939 inhabitants87,024 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also