Official nameMalaysia
Name in local languageKerajaan Malaysia (ms)
SubcontinentSoutheast Asia
Population (ranking: 46e)32,549,402 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.13 % / year
Area330,345 km²
Density98.53 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 38e)354.348 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)11,239 $USD (2018)
GDP growth4.70 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)76.00 years (2018)
Birth rate16.60 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.00 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)5.00 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)6.20 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate98.42 % (2015)
Official languagesMalay
CurrencyRinggit (MYR)
HDI (ranking: 87e)0.804 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)59.22 (2018)
GovernmentFederal parliamentary elective constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Abdullah Shah
National Day31 August (independence of 1957)
Tourists (ranking)25,948,000 people (2017)
Malaisie – petite

Malaysia is a Southeast Asian state, consisting of Peninsular Malaysia or West Malaysia (major part of the Malay Peninsula) and East Malaysia (North Borneo). It shares borders with Thailand to the north, Singapore to the south, Indonesia and Brunei on the island of Borneo.

Tours Petronas, Kuala Lumpur, Malaisie
Petronas Towers (452 m), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Villas sur pilotis, Malaisie
Overwater villas, Malaysia
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Kuala Lumpur8,178,330 inhabitants
George Town (Penang)2,412,586 inhabitants
Johor Bahru2,400,520 inhabitants
Ipoh1,499,009 inhabitants
Malacca901,700 inhabitants
Kota Kinabalu877,889 inhabitants
Seremban806,920 inhabitants
Kuching684,112 inhabitants
Kuantan607,778 inhabitants
Alor Setar605,523 inhabitants
Kuala Terengganu586,317 inhabitants
Kota Bahru577,301 inhabitants
Sandakan501,195 inhabitants
Batu Pahat (Bandar Penggaram)417,458 inhabitants
Kluang397,825 inhabitants
Tawau397,673 inhabitants
Bintulu300,994 inhabitants
Miri300,543 inhabitants
Sibu247,995 inhabitants
Taiping220,589 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
States and Federal TerritoriesPopulationArea
Johor3,655,100 inhabitants19,016 km²
Kedah2,120,700 inhabitants9,425 km²
Kelantan1,797,200 inhabitants15,105 km²
Kuala Lumpur (Territoire fédéral)1,787,200 inhabitants243 km²
Labuan (Territoire fédéral)97,800 inhabitants92 km²
Malacca901,700 inhabitants1,652 km²
Negeri Sembilan1,099,700 inhabitants6,657 km²
Pahang1,628,100 inhabitants35,965 km²
Penang1,719,300 inhabitants1,031 km²
Perak2,483,000 inhabitants21,038 km²
Perlis251,000 inhabitants795 km²
Putrajaya (Territoire fédéral)88,300 inhabitants49 km²
Sabah3,813,200 inhabitants73,902 km²
Sarawak2,741,000 inhabitants124,450 km²
Selangor6,298,400 inhabitants7,930 km²
Terengganu1,183,900 inhabitants12,974 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also