New Zealand

Official nameNew Zealand
Name in local languageNew Zealand (en) ; Aotearoa (mi)
Population (ranking: 124e)5,136,118 inhabitants (2023)
Population growth0.24 % / year
Area268,107 km²
Density19.16 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 47e)249.886 billions $USD (2021)
GDP/capita (ranking)48,781 $USD (2021)
GDP growth3.70 % / year (2021)
Life expectancy (ranking)82.30 years (2020)
Birth rate11.48 ‰ (2021)
Fertility rate1.64 children / woman (2022)
Death rate (ranking)6.83 ‰ (2021)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)4.65 ‰ (2021)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2023)
Official languagesEnglish, Māori, NZ Sign Language
CurrencyNew Zealand dollar ($ NZD)
HDI (ranking: 19e)0.937 / 1 (2021)
EPI (ranking)75.96 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Charles III ; Gouvernor-General Cindy Kiro ; Prime Minister Christopher Luxon
National Day6 February (Waitangi Day)
DemonymNew Zealander
Tourists (ranking)206,862 people (2021)
New Zealand – Small
A relative isolation

New Zealand is an Oceanian country located to the southwest of the Pacific Ocean, consisting of an archipelago of two main islands (the North Island and the South Island), and many other islands more small, including Stewart Island and Chatham Islands. The country is geographically rather isolated from the rest of the world, about 1600 km from Australia. This isolation has allowed the development of a rich and varied endemic flora and fauna.

Auckland, Nouvelle-Zélande
Auckland, New Zealand. Photo: Christian Mehlführer
Volcano of White Island. Source: Wildlife Archives
Golf de Cape Kidnapper, Nouvelle-Zélande
Golf of Cape Kidnapper, New Zealand
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2022)
Urban areasPopulation
Auckland1,695,200 inhabitants
Christchurch470,814 inhabitants
Wellington434,900 inhabitants
Hamilton241,200 inhabitants
Tauranga158,300 inhabitants
Napier-Hastings157,400 inhabitants
Dunedin130,400 inhabitants
Palmerston North92,004 inhabitants
New Plymouth87,700 inhabitants
Whangārei84,117 inhabitants
Nelson79,998 inhabitants
Rotorua76,800 inhabitants
Invercargill56,800 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Auckland1,695,200 inhabitants4,894 km²
Bay of Plenty347,700 inhabitants12,231 km²
Canterbury655,000 inhabitants44,638 km²
Gisborne52,100 inhabitants8,355 km²
Hawke's Bay182,700 inhabitants14,111 km²
Manawatu-Wanganui258,200 inhabitants22,206 km²
Marlborough51,900 inhabitants12,484 km²
Nelson54,500 inhabitants445 km²
North Island (Physical geography)3,922,000 inhabitants113,729 km²
Northland201,500 inhabitants13,789 km²
Otago246,000 inhabitants31,241 km²
South Island (Physical geography)1,201,300 inhabitants150,437 km²
Southland102,400 inhabitants32,079 km²
Taranaki127,300 inhabitants7,258 km²
Tasman58,700 inhabitants9,771 km²
Waikato513,800 inhabitants24,025 km²
Wellington543,500 inhabitants8,140 km²
West Coast32,700 inhabitants23,276 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also