Sint Maarten (Netherlands)

Official nameSint Maarten
Name in local languageSint Maarten (nl)
Population (ranking: 226e)42,878 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth2.85 % / year
Area34 km²
Density1,261.12 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 219e)0.903 billions $USD (2017)
GDP/capita (ranking)22,276 $USD (2017)
GDP growth-8.40 % / year (2017)
Life expectancy (ranking)78.10 years (2016)
Birth rate13.10 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.06 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)4.10 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)8.30 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate100.00 % (2019)
Official languagesDutch, English (French spoken)
CurrencyNetherlands Antillean guilder (ANG)
HDI (ranking: 152e)0.702 / 1 (2000)
EPI (ranking)75.46 (2018)
GovernmentConstitutional monarchy, Constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Head of StateKing Willem-Alexander ; Governor Eugene Holiday
National Day7 November
DemonymSt. Maartener, Dutch
Tourists (ranking)402,000 people (2017)
Sint Maarten

Sint Maarten is an autonomous state dependent on the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which formerly formed the Netherlands Antilles with Aruba and Curaçao. It is located in the Lesser Antilles on the island of St. Martin, whose Dutch part includes about 40% of the territory, the rest being occupied by the Overseas Collectivity of Saint-Martin, which is part of France. Sint Maarten is bordered by the Caribbean Sea, and lies south of the island of Anguilla, northwest of the French island of Saint Barthélemy, and east of Puerto Rico. Its capital is Philipsburg.

Philipsburg, capitale de Saint-Martin (Sint Maarten)
Philipsburg, capital of Sint Maarten
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Philipsburg42,878 inhabitants
See all urban areas
See also