Netherlands Antilles

Official nameNetherlands Antilles
Name in local languageNederlandse Antillen (nl)
Population (ranking: 196e)230,304 inhabitants (2011)
Population growth0.69 % / year
Area960 km²
Density239.90 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 202e)2.450 billions $USD (2003)
GDP/capita (ranking)11,400 $USD (2003)
GDP growth-3.90 % / year (2003)
Life expectancy (ranking)77.04 years (2011)
Birth rate13.91 ‰ (2011)
Fertility rate1.96 children / woman (2011)
Death rate (ranking)6.61 ‰ (2011)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)8.61 ‰ (2011)
Literacy rate96.30 % (2008)
Official languagesDutch
CurrencyNetherlands Antillean guilder (ANG)
HDI (ranking: n.c.)0.000 / 1 (2017)
EPI (ranking)0.00 (2018)
GovernmentConstitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Willem-Alexander
National Day1st November
Antilles néerlandaises – petite
Dissolution of the federation

The Netherlands Antilles was an autonomous federation within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. They consisted mainly of the Curaçao Islands, Bonaire and the Dutch part of Saint Martin, plus some small secondary islands. Saint Martin is an island shared with France.
In October 2010, this federation of islands dissolved to evolve differently: Curaçao and Sint Maarten became autonomous states within the kingdom of the Netherlands, the islands of Bonaire, Saba and Saint Eustache were united to the Netherlands as special status municipalities.

Visit their respective sheets:

See all related maps or articles
Administrative divisions
Curaçao146,836 inhabitants444 km²
Sint Maarten40,608 inhabitants34 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also