Official nameRepublic of the Niger
Name in local languageRépublique du Niger (fr)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 57e)24,118,328 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth3.83 % / year
Area1,266,491 km²
Density19.04 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 143e)12.912 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)554 $USD (2019)
GDP growth5.90 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)62.00 years (2018)
Birth rate49.44 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate6.00 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)9.12 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)48.00 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate28.40 % (2017)
Official languagesFrench
CurrencyWest African CFA franc (XOF)
HDI (ranking: 226e)0.394 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)35.74 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Mohamed Bazoum
National Day3 August (independence in 1960)
Tourists (ranking)157,000 people (2018)
Niger – petite
Niger is one of the poorest countries in the world

Niger is a country in West Africa, bordered by Algeria and Libya to the north, Chad to the east, Nigeria and Benin to the south, Burkina Faso and Mali to the west. Its capital and largest city is Niamey, on the banks of the Niger River. Regarding to the Human Development Index (HDI), it’s the least developed country in the world (0.354 ; 189th of 189 countries).

Alentours du volcan Izzeguerit, sur le Bagzane, Niger
Surroundings of Izzeguerit volcano, Bagzane, Niger. Photo: Jacques Taberlet
Fleuve Niger
Niger River
Eaux de pluie dans le désert, Niger
Rainwater in the desert, Niger
Village près de Tahoua, Niger
Village near Tahoua, Niger. Photo: Yann Arthus-Bertrand
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2018)
Urban areasPopulation
Niamey1,565,056 inhabitants
Zinder336,024 inhabitants
Maradi278,082 inhabitants
Gazaoua167,042 inhabitants
Tessaoua166,682 inhabitants
Tahoua161,623 inhabitants
Torodi151,541 inhabitants
Birni N'Konni143,530 inhabitants
Aguié142,182 inhabitants
Tanout134,074 inhabitants
Illéla126,920 inhabitants
Agadez124,324 inhabitants
Madaoua114,603 inhabitants
Tibiri114,424 inhabitants
Arlit113,542 inhabitants
Magaria106,391 inhabitants
Téra92,544 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Agadez527,126 inhabitants667,799 km²
Diffa593,821 inhabitants156,906 km²
Dosso2,120,260 inhabitants33,844 km²
Maradi3,539,950 inhabitants41,796 km²
Niamey (Communauté urbaine)1,175,446 inhabitants255 km²
Tahoua3,598,280 inhabitants113,371 km²
Tillaberi2,943,268 inhabitants97,251 km²
Zinder3,683,224 inhabitants155,778 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also