Official nameRepublic of Benin
Name in local languageRépublique du Bénin (fr)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 78e)12,506,347 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth3.24 % / year
Area114,763 km²
Density108.98 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 134e)14.391 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,219 $USD (2019)
GDP growth6.90 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)61.50 years (2018)
Birth rate36.40 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate5.70 children / woman (2018)
Death rate (ranking)8.50 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)68.10 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate41.60 % (2015)
Official languagesFrench
CurrencyWest African CFA franc (XOF)
HDI (ranking: 194e)0.545 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)38.17 (2018)
GovernmentPresidential republic
Head of StatePresident Patrice Talon
National Day1st August (independence of 1960)
Tourists (ranking)295,000 people (2018)
Bénin – petite
Strong demographic growth

Benin is a country in West Africa, which is 700 kilometers long, from the Niger River in the north to the Atlantic coast to the south. The country is part of the ECOWAS and the Francophonie, and is bordered by Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, and to the north Niger and Burkina Faso.

Vue depuis les montagnes de l'Atakora, nord du Bénin
Viw from the mountains of Atakora, north of Benin. Photo: Wegmann
Littoral près de Cotonou, Bénin
Littoral near Cotonou, Benin. Photo: iha
Village sur l'eau, Bénin
Village on water, Benin
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2021)
Urban areasPopulation
Cotonou2,557,723 inhabitants
Porto-Novo926,839 inhabitants
Djougou267,812 inhabitants
Abomey-Bohicon264,047 inhabitants
Parakou255,478 inhabitants
Kandi179,290 inhabitants
Malanville168,641 inhabitants
Ouidah162,034 inhabitants
Natitingou154,811 inhabitants
Djakotomey134,028 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Alibori962,637 inhabitants26,242 km²
Atacora1,014,961 inhabitants20,499 km²
Atlantique1,480,983 inhabitants3,233 km²
Borgou1,337,792 inhabitants25,856 km²
Collines990,033 inhabitants13,931 km²
Couffo969,090 inhabitants2,404 km²
Donga646,684 inhabitants11,126 km²
Littoral1,228,667 inhabitants79 km²
Mono665,111 inhabitants1,605 km²
Ouémé1,349,986 inhabitants1,281 km²
Plateau752,083 inhabitants3,264 km²
Zou1,108,320 inhabitants5,243 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also