Burkina Faso

Official nameBurkina Faso
Name in local languageBurkina Faso (fr)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 61e)21,510,181 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth3.07 % / year
Area270,764 km²
Density79.44 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 127e)15.746 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)775 $USD (2019)
GDP growth5.70 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)61.20 years (2018)
Birth rate40.02 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate5.52 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)9.56 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)50.90 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate52.51 % (2015)
Official languagesFrench
CurrencyWest African CFA franc (XOF)
HDI (ranking: 220e)0.434 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)42.83 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Roch Marc Christian Kaboré
National Day11 December (autonomy within the French Community in 1958)
Tourists (ranking)143,000 people (2017)
Burkina Faso – petite
Progress in development but much remains to be done

Burkina Faso is a landlocked Francophone West African country, with no access to the sea, surrounded by Mali to the north and west, from Niger to the east, Benin to the southeast, Togo and from Ghana to the south and Ivory Coast to the southwest.

Cascades de Karfiguela, Burkina Faso
Karfiguela waterfall, Burkina Faso. Photo: Antona Osberg
Monument des martyrs, Ouagadougou
Martyrs Monument, Ouagadougou. Photo: Sputniktilt
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Ouagadougou2,966,307 inhabitants
Bobo-Dioulasso806,939 inhabitants
Koudougou183,332 inhabitants
Fada N'Gourma180,356 inhabitants
Ouahigouya169,893 inhabitants
Tenkodogo165,961 inhabitants
Solenzo163,267 inhabitants
Kaya162,377 inhabitants
Gorom-Gorom155,589 inhabitants
Banfora153,574 inhabitants
Dori145,764 inhabitants
Pissila134,087 inhabitants
Bilanga129,616 inhabitants
Sidéradougou128,362 inhabitants
Arbinda125,492 inhabitants
Pouytenga122,477 inhabitants
Dédougou118,727 inhabitants
Bogandé118,154 inhabitants
Houndé111,650 inhabitants
Gourcy111,127 inhabitants
Karangasso-Vigué111,014 inhabitants
Barsalogho110,382 inhabitants
Boulsa110,186 inhabitants
Zabré109,712 inhabitants
Boussouma109,446 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Boucle du Mouhoun1,777,018 inhabitants34,497 km²
Cascades713,059 inhabitants18,434 km²
Centre2,966,307 inhabitants2,805 km²
Centre-Est1,427,320 inhabitants14,710 km²
Centre-Nord1,547,565 inhabitants20,890 km²
Centre-Ouest1,468,966 inhabitants21,726 km²
Centre-Sud783,430 inhabitants11,457 km²
Est1,564,146 inhabitants46,694 km²
Hauts-Bassins1,898,361 inhabitants25,479 km²
Nord1,502,527 inhabitants20,410 km²
Plateau-Central852,536 inhabitants8,605 km²
Sahel1,233,559 inhabitants36,166 km²
Sud-Ouest773,362 inhabitants16,318 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also