Official nameFederal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Name in local languageየኢትዮጵያ ፌዴራላዊ ዲሞክራሲያዊ ሪፐብሊክ ; YeItyopya Fédéralawi Dimokrasiyawi Ripeblik (am)
SubcontinentEast Africa
Population (ranking: 13e)101,104,642 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth2.33 % / year
Area1,132,308 km²
Density89.29 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 68e)96.108 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)858 $USD (2019)
GDP growth8.28 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)66.20 years (2018)
Birth rate38.07 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate4.20 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)8.87 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)58.28 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate54.98 % (2007)
Official languagesNo one. Amharic is the federal government language
CurrencyBirr (ETB)
HDI (ranking: 212e)0.470 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)44.78 (2018)
GovernmentFederal parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Sahle-Work Zewde
National Day28 May (Fall of the Derg diet in 1987)
Tourists (ranking)871,000 people (2016)
Ethiopia – small
Economic boom thanks to a large population of 100M+

Ethiopia is a state in the Horn of Africa that shares borders with Eritrea, which is an old province of the country, Somalia, Somaliland, Puntland, Sudan, South Sudan, Kenya and Djibouti. Since Eritrea’s independence in 1993, Ethiopia no longer has access to the sea.

Volcan Erta Ale, Éthiopie. Photo : Most Beautiful Spots.
Volcano Erta Ale, Ethiopia. Photo: Most Beautiful Spots
Addis Ababa, 2018
Addis Ababa, 2018. Photo: Getahun Mekuria

See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2020)
Urban areasPopulation
Addis Ababa5,153,002 inhabitants
Diré Dawa453,000 inhabitants
Mekelle310,436 inhabitants
Adama (Nazret)274,469 inhabitants
Harar240,000 inhabitants
Gondar232,782 inhabitants
Desé202,162 inhabitants
Baher Dar200,452 inhabitants
Jimma190,607 inhabitants
Bishoftu (Debre Zeit)157,185 inhabitants
Awassa156,366 inhabitants
Jijiga117,321 inhabitants
Shashemenné111,822 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Regions (Kilil)PopulationArea
Addis-Abeba3,352,000 inhabitants527 km²
Afar1,769,002 inhabitants72,053 km²
Amhara20,769,985 inhabitants154,709 km²
Benishangul-Gumaz1,033,999 inhabitants50,699 km²
Diré Dawa453,000 inhabitants1,559 km²
Gambela422,002 inhabitants29,783 km²
Harar240,000 inhabitants334 km²
Les nations, nationalités et peuples du Sud18,719,008 inhabitants105,887 km²
Oromia34,575,008 inhabitants284,538 km²
Somali5,598,002 inhabitants279,252 km²
Tigré5,151,998 inhabitants41,410 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also