Official nameRepublic of Kenya
Name in local languageJamhuri ya Kenya (sw) ; Republic of Kenya (en)
SubcontinentEast Africa
Population (ranking: 30e)46,050,302 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.61 % / year
Area591,971 km²
Density77.79 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 68e)87.908 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,711 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)61.58 years (2014)
Birth rate34.64 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate4.33 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)8.26 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)35.50 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate77.97 % (2015)
Official languagesEnglish, Swahili
CurrencyKenyan shilling (KES)
HDI (ranking: 179e)0.590 / 1 (2017)
EPI (ranking)47.25 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Uhuru Kenyatta
National Day12 December (independence in 1963)
Tourists (ranking)1,364,000 people (2017)
Kenya – petite
Poverty remains high in the country, despite good economic health

Kenya is a country in East Africa, bordered by South Sudan and Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the east, Uganda to the west and Tanzania to the southwest. It is bathed by the Indian Ocean to the southeast.
Half of the country’s inhabitants live below the poverty line, despite good economic health that has lasted for a decade. The country is equipped with infrastructure, including roads and railway lines, but this economic boom does not benefit everyone, far from it.

Savane au Kenya
Savanna in Kenya. Photo: David du Chemin
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Nairobi8,341,582 inhabitants
Mombasa1,231,211 inhabitants
Nakuru284,840 inhabitants
Eldoret269,574 inhabitants
Kisumu236,394 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Baringo555,561 inhabitants10,912 km²
Bomet730,129 inhabitants2,355 km²
Bungoma1,375,063 inhabitants3,033 km²
Busia743,946 inhabitants1,830 km²
Elgeyo-Marakwet369,998 inhabitants3,018 km²
Embu516,212 inhabitants2,828 km²
Garissa623,060 inhabitants43,591 km²
Homa Bay963,794 inhabitants4,760 km²
Isiolo143,294 inhabitants25,382 km²
Kakamega1,660,651 inhabitants3,023 km²
Kericho752,396 inhabitants2,617 km²
Kiambu1,623,282 inhabitants2,569 km²
Kijiado687,312 inhabitants21,899 km²
Kilifi1,109,735 inhabitants12,505 km²
Kirinyaga528,054 inhabitants1,475 km²
Kisii1,152,282 inhabitants1,321 km²
Kisumu968,909 inhabitants2,677 km²
Kitui1,012,709 inhabitants30,437 km²
Kwale649,931 inhabitants8,230 km²
Laikipia399,227 inhabitants9,544 km²
Lamu101,539 inhabitants6,140 km²
Machakos1,098,584 inhabitants6,016 km²
Makueni884,527 inhabitants8,172 km²
Mandera1,025,756 inhabitants25,986 km²
Marsabit291,166 inhabitants76,031 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also