Official nameRepublic of Yemen
Name in local languageالجمهورية اليمنية ; Al-Jumhuriyah al-Yamaniyah (ar)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 42e)34,232,322 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.60 % / year
Area527,968 km²
Density64.84 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 108e)26.914 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)944 $USD (2018)
GDP growth-2.70 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)65.50 years (2016)
Birth rate28.40 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate3.63 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)6.00 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)47.40 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate70.07 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic
CurrencyYemeni rial (YER)
HDI (ranking: 215e)0.463 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)49.79 (2016)
GovernmentRepublic (Provisional governments)
Head of StatePresident Abd Rabbuh Mansur Hadi (Aden) ; President of the Supreme Political Council Mahdi al-Mashat (Houthi, Sana'a)
National Day12 May (reunification of the two Yemen in 1990)
DemonymYemeni, Yemenite
Tourists (ranking)367,000 people (2015)
Yémen – petite

Yemen is an Arab country located at the southwestern tip of the Arabian Peninsula. The country has a long land border with Saudi Arabia to the north, with Oman to the northeast, and a maritime border with Djibouti and Eritrea to the west, and Somalia, Somaliland and Puntland to the south. It has an important coastline on the Gulf of Aden, a smaller one on the Red Sea, and controls with Djibouti the Strait of Bab-el-Mandeb which leads to the Suez Canal. Its capital, Sanaa, lies to the west of the country, in the mountains (2260 meters above sea level) and its main port is Aden (former capital of South Yemen).

Aden, ancienne capitale du Yémen
Aden, former capital of Yemen. Photo: Motaz Alnahdy
Ta'izz, Yémen
Ta’izz, Yemen
Sanaa, capitale du Yémen
Sanaa, capital of Yemen. Photo: Franco Pecchio
Ancienne ville de Chibam, Yémen
Ancient city of Chibam, Yemen. Mudstone city listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Photo: George Steinmetz, National Geographic
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2015)
Urban areasPopulation
Sanaa2,957,392 inhabitants
Aden1,760,923 inhabitants
Taiz1,615,222 inhabitants
Al Hudaydah714,523 inhabitants
Mukalla531,205 inhabitants
Ibb292,428 inhabitants
Dhamar198,040 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Governorates (Muhafazat)PopulationArea
'Amran1,123,651 inhabitants9,587 km²
Abyan658,824 inhabitants21,939 km²
Ad Dali'602,613 inhabitants4,786 km²
Aden1,087,653 inhabitants1,114 km²
Al Bayda'835,683 inhabitants11,193 km²
Al Hudaydah3,774,914 inhabitants17,509 km²
Al Jawf663,147 inhabitants30,620 km²
Al-Mahrah400,000 inhabitants122,500 km²
Al-Mahwit732,360 inhabitants2,858 km²
Amanat Al-Asemah (Municipalité de Sanaa)1,174,767 inhabitants126 km²
Dhamar1,697,067 inhabitants10,495 km²
Hadhramaout1,368,085 inhabitants193,032 km²
Hajjah1,887,213 inhabitants10,141 km²
Ibb3,911,070 inhabitants6,484 km²
Lahij926,291 inhabitants15,210 km²
Ma'rib504,696 inhabitants20,023 km²
Raymah502,505 inhabitants3,442 km²
Sa'dah987,663 inhabitants15,022 km²
Sanaa2,279,665 inhabitants15,052 km²
Shabwah651,509 inhabitants47,728 km²
Socotra59,293 inhabitants3,796 km²
Ta'izz4,554,443 inhabitants12,605 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also