Official nameSultanate of Oman
Name in local languageسلطنة عُمان - Salṭanat ʻUmān (ar)
SubcontinentWestern Asia
Population (ranking: 130e)4,669,948 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth0.00 % / year
Area309,550 km²
Density15.09 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 71e)79.295 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)16,419 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.10 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)77.60 years (2018)
Birth rate20.00 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.90 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)2.00 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)9.30 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate91.14 % (2015)
Official languagesArabic
CurrencyRial (OMR)
HDI (ranking: 68e)0.834 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)51.32 (2018)
GovernmentSultanate - Unitary parliamentary absolute monarchy
Head of StateSultan Haitham bin Tariq Al Said
National Day11 November (anniversary of the sultan)
Tourists (ranking)3,300,000 people (2017)
Oman – petite
Oil and gas have greatly enriched the country

Oman is a Middle Eastern country located south of the Arabian Peninsula, on the shores of the Gulf of Oman and the Arabian Sea. It is bordered by the United Arab Emirates to the north, Saudi Arabia to the west and Yemen to the southwest. It is an absolute monarchy.

Khor Njad Fjord, Oman
Khor Njad Fjord, Oman
Coast of Oman
Coast of Oman
Muscat, capital of Oman
Muscat, capital of Oman
Muscat, capital of Oman
Muscat, capital of Oman
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Muscat1,459,249 inhabitants
Salalah374,582 inhabitants
Sohar231,102 inhabitants
Suwayq179,189 inhabitants
Ibri165,354 inhabitants
Saham147,775 inhabitants
Barka146,596 inhabitants
Jaalan bani bu Ali142,674 inhabitants
Nizwa123,396 inhabitants
Rustaq121,587 inhabitants
Sur121,088 inhabitants
Al Mudhaibi117,691 inhabitants
Buraimi106,786 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Governorates (Muhafazah)PopulationArea
Ad Dakhiliyah461,199 inhabitants31,900 km²
Ad Dhahirah213,771 inhabitants37,000 km²
Al Batinah North754,169 inhabitants10,000 km²
Al Batinah South417,847 inhabitants2,500 km²
Al Buraimi114,334 inhabitants67,963 km²
Al Wusta45,156 inhabitants79,700 km²
Ash Sharqiyah North279,223 inhabitants18,400 km²
Ash Sharqiyah South312,822 inhabitants18,400 km²
Dhofar457,622 inhabitants99,300 km²
Musandam44,571 inhabitants1,800 km²
Muscat1,459,249 inhabitants3,500 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also