Official nameRepublic of Tajikistan
Name in local languageҶумҳурии Тоҷикистон (tg) ; Jumhurii Tojikiston (tg)
SubcontinentCentral Asia
Population (ranking: 99e)8,931,496 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.17 % / year
Area142,627 km²
Density62.62 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 157e)7.523 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)827 $USD (2018)
GDP growth7.30 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)73.60 years (2015)
Birth rate28.10 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.71 children / woman (2015)
Death rate (ranking)4.00 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)33.93 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate99.77 % (2015)
Official languagesTajik, Russian
CurrencySomoni (TJS)
HDI (ranking: 166e)0.650 / 1 (2017)
EPI (ranking)47.85 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party presidential constitutional republic (dictatorship in fact)
Head of StatePresident Emomali Rahmon
National Day9 September (independence of 1991)
Tourists (ranking)414,000 people (2015)
Tadjikistan – petite

Tajikistan is a mountainous country in Central Asia with no access to the sea. It is bordered by Afghanistan to the south, China to the east, Kyrgyzstan to the north and Uzbekistan to the west. It was part of the USSR until 1991, and the breakup of this former state, replaced today by Russia and the former republics that constituted the USSR. Tajikistan is part of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

Pamir, Tadjikistan
Pamir, Tajikistan
Paysage du Tadjikistan
Countryside of Tajikistan
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Douchanbé1,485,100 inhabitants
Khodjent735,700 inhabitants
Qurghonteppa175,450 inhabitants
Kulob120,200 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Douchanbé (Ville)802,700 inhabitants127 km²
Haut-Badakhchan (Gorno-Badakhshan) (Région autonome)217,400 inhabitants64,100 km²
Khatlon3,047,800 inhabitants24,600 km²
Région de subordination républicaine (Nohiyahoi tobei Jumhurii)1,972,300 inhabitants28,600 km²
Sughd2,511,000 inhabitants25,200 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also