Official nameRepublic of Senegal
Name in local languageRépublique du Sénégal (fr)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 71e)16,209,125 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth3.07 % / year
Area196,712 km²
Density82.40 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 115e)24.130 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,522 $USD (2018)
GDP growth6.80 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)64.80 years (2013)
Birth rate37.20 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate4.70 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)7.70 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)51.00 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate57.67 % (2015)
Official languagesFrench (Wolof spoken)
CurrencyCFA franc (XAF)
HDI (ranking: 206e)0.505 / 1 (2017)
EPI (ranking)49.52 (2018)
GovernmentSemi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Macky Sall
National Day4 April (independence of 1960)
Tourists (ranking)1,007,000 people (2015)
Senegal – small
Sustained development but constrained by the global crisis

Senegal is a country located in West Africa. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, Guinea and Guinea-Bissau to the south. The Gambia forms a virtual enclave in the country, cutting the country in half and penetrating more than 300 km inland. The Cape Verde Islands are located 560 km off the coast of Senegal. The country owes its name to the river that borders on the east and north and has its source in Fouta Djallon in Guinea. The climate is tropical and dry with two seasons: the dry season and the rainy season.

Plage au Sénégal
Beach in Senegal
Dakar, capitale du Sénégal
Dakar, capital of Senegal. Photo: Daouda
Saint-Louis - Sénégal
Saint-Louis – Senegal
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Dakar3,732,284 inhabitants
Touba878,596 inhabitants
Mbour766,432 inhabitants
Thiès765,213 inhabitants
Kaolack569,912 inhabitants
Saint-Louis337,945 inhabitants
Diourbel312,822 inhabitants
Ziguinchor289,904 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Dakar3,732,284 inhabitants547 km²
Diourbel1,801,991 inhabitants4,824 km²
Fatick870,361 inhabitants6,849 km²
Kaffrine703,555 inhabitants11,262 km²
Kaolack1,155,433 inhabitants5,357 km²
Kédougou184,275 inhabitants16,800 km²
Kolda796,582 inhabitants13,771 km²
Louga1,032,645 inhabitants24,889 km²
Matam706,037 inhabitants29,445 km²
Saint-Louis1,063,542 inhabitants19,241 km²
Sédhiou553,005 inhabitants7,341 km²
Tambacounda841,518 inhabitants42,364 km²
Thiès2,105,707 inhabitants6,670 km²
Ziguinchor662,179 inhabitants7,352 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also