Cape Verde

Official nameRepublic of Cabo Verde
Name in local languageRepública de Cabo Verde (pt) ; Repúblika di Kabu Verdi (kea)
SubcontinentSub-Saharan Africa
Population (ranking: 178e)544,081 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.19 % / year
Area4,033 km²
Density134.91 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 198e)1.987 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)3,654 $USD (2018)
GDP growth5.50 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)76.20 years (2017)
Birth rate19.89 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate2.29 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)4.90 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)21.40 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate98.34 % (2015)
Official languagesPortuguese
CurrencyCape Verdean escudo (CVE)
HDI (ranking: 164e)0.651 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)56.94 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Jorge Carlos Fonseca
National Day5 July (independence of 1975)
DemonymCape Verdean, Cabo Verdean
Tourists (ranking)668,000 people (2017)
Cap-Vert – petite

Cape Verde (or Cabo Verde) is an island country in West Africa composed of an archipelago of ten volcanic islands. It is located in the Atlantic Ocean, off the coast of Mauritania and Senegal. The archipelago is divided into two series of islands: to the south the islands of Sotavento (Brava, Fogo, Santiago and Maio) and to the north the islands of Barlavento (Boa Vista, Sal, Sao Nicolau, Santa Luzia, São Vicente and Santo Antao). Santiago alone comprises more than half of the country’s population, including the capital and largest city Praia. The country is a former colony of Portugal, which became independent on July 5, 1975.

Pic de Fogo, volcan du Cap-Vert
Fogo Peak, Cape Verde Volcano. Photo: Simo Räsänen
Praia, capitale du Cap-Vert
Praia, capitale of Cape Verde. Photo: Cayambe
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Praia159,047 inhabitants
Mindelo82,680 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Boa Vista16,621 inhabitants620 km²
Brava5,579 inhabitants64 km²
Fogo35,416 inhabitants476 km²
Maio7,111 inhabitants269 km²
Sal36,769 inhabitants216 km²
Santa Luzia0 inhabitants35 km²
Santiago301,903 inhabitants991 km²
Santo Antão39,324 inhabitants779 km²
São Nicolau12,260 inhabitants343 km²
São Vicente82,680 inhabitants227 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also