Official nameIslamic Republic of Pakistan
Name in local languageاسلامی جمہوریۂ پاکستان ; Islāmī Jumhūrīah Pākistān (ur) ; Islamic Republic of Pakistan (en)
SubcontinentSouth Asia
Population (ranking: 6e)212,761,108 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.40 % / year
Area796,096 km²
Density267.25 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 40e)312.570 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,473 $USD (2018)
GDP growth5.40 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)67.10 years (2018)
Birth rate26.40 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate3.20 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)6.90 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)65.80 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate73.71 % (2015)
Official languagesUrdu, english
CurrencyPakistani rupee (₨ PKR)
HDI (ranking: 190e)0.560 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)37.50 (2018)
GovernmentFederal parliamentary constitutional republic, Islamic republic
Head of StatePresident Arif Alvi
National DayAugust 14 (independence of 1947)
Tourists (ranking)6,205 people (2015)
Pakistan – petite

Pakistan is an Islamic Republic of the Indian subcontinent bordered by Iran to the southwest, Afghanistan to the west, China to the north, India to the east, and by the Arabian Sea to the south. It was founded on August 14, 1947 at the end of the partition of the British Indian Empire, in the form of a state consisting of two parts geographically separated by nearly 1600 kilometers of Indian territory, the current Pakistan to the west, and what has become Bangladesh to the east, in the Bay of Bengal. Pakistan was reduced to its western part only after the Bangladesh war of independence in 1971.

Desert of Skardu, Pakistan. Source: Wildlife Archives

Sunset over the countryside, Pakistan. Source: Wildlife Archives

Avenue de la Constitution, Islamabad
Avenue of the Constitution, Islamabad. Photo: Zacharie Grossen
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Karachi16,625,813 inhabitants
Lahore12,328,075 inhabitants
Islamabad-Rawalpindi7,902,211 inhabitants
Faisalabad7,873,910 inhabitants
Moultan (Multan)4,745,109 inhabitants
Peshawar4,269,079 inhabitants
Hyderâbâd3,192,605 inhabitants
Gujranwala2,948,936 inhabitants
Mardan2,373,061 inhabitants
Quetta2,275,699 inhabitants
Sukkur1,487,903 inhabitants
Abbottabad1,332,912 inhabitants
Bahawalpur1,171,258 inhabitants
Sialkot1,143,362 inhabitants
Sargodha1,091,045 inhabitants
Rahim Yar Khan1,032,636 inhabitants
Kohat993,874 inhabitants
Kasur890,835 inhabitants
Okara831,790 inhabitants
Gujrat827,396 inhabitants
Khairpur775,850 inhabitants
Larkana701,637 inhabitants
Mingora695,900 inhabitants
Muzaffargarh694,771 inhabitants
Bahawalnagar621,096 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Provinces and territoriesPopulationArea
Azad Jammu-et-Cachemire (Azad Jammu and Kashmir) (Territoire)4,567,982 inhabitants13,297 km²
Baloutchistan (Balochistan)13,344,408 inhabitants347,190 km²
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa30,523,371 inhabitants74,721 km²
Pendjab (Punjab)110,012,442 inhabitants205,345 km²
Régions tribales administrées fédéralement (FATA) (Régions tribales)5,001,676 inhabitants27,220 km²
Sind (Sindh)47,886,051 inhabitants140,914 km²
Territoire fédéral d'Islamabad (Territoire)2,006,572 inhabitants906 km²
Territoires du Nord (Gilgit-Baltistan) (Territoire)1,801,523 inhabitants72,971 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also