Official namePeople's Republic of Bangladesh
Name in local languageগণপ্রজাতন্ত্রী বাংলাদেশ - Gaṇaprajātantrī Bāṃlādēśa (bn)
SubcontinentSouth Asia
Population (ranking: 8e)173,548,302 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.77 % / year
Area147,570 km²
Density1,176.04 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 43e)274.025 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,698 $USD (2018)
GDP growth7.90 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)72.30 years (2018)
Birth rate22.07 ‰ (2013)
Fertility rate2.50 children / woman (2013)
Death rate (ranking)5.67 ‰ (2013)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)47.30 ‰ (2013)
Literacy rate61.55 % (2015)
Official languagesBengali
CurrencyTaka (৳ BDT)
HDI (ranking: 173e)0.614 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)29.56 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Head of StatePresident Abdul Hamid
National Day26 March (Republic of 1971)
Tourists (ranking)125,000 people (2014)
Bangladesh – petite
Bangladesh is a victim of its geography

Bangladesh is a South Asian country that is part of the Indian subcontinent. Located in the north of the Bay of Bengal, almost enclaved in India, it also has a small border with Burma.

Pont piétonnier, Bangladesh
Pedestrian bridge, Bangladesh. Photo: Jonathan Munshi, National Geographic
The repeated floods that are swamping the country are the cause of growing underdevelopment. The geographical situation favors this, with the meeting of two of the largest rivers in the world, the Ganges and the Brahmaputra.
The country can not get out of this perpetual crisis. The majority of the territory is subject to flooding, even though the population density of 1,144 inhabitants per km2 is the largest in the world, with the exception of micro-states. The countryside is more densely populated than some cities in the United States!

Inondations au Bangladesh
Flooding in Bangladesh
Dacca, Bangladesh
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Train à Dacca, Bangladesh
Train in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Photo: Phil Cotterhill
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Dhaka18,615,648 inhabitants
Chittagong4,119,026 inhabitants
Khulna1,611,731 inhabitants
Râjshâhî878,471 inhabitants
Rangpur649,865 inhabitants
Sylhet526,412 inhabitants
Comilla419,623 inhabitants
Tongi406,420 inhabitants
Bogra400,983 inhabitants
Mymensingh389,918 inhabitants
Barisal385,093 inhabitants
Narsingdi292,838 inhabitants
Jessore250,065 inhabitants
Brahmanbaria248,942 inhabitants
Cox's Bazar223,522 inhabitants
Dinajpur216,066 inhabitants
Gazipur213,061 inhabitants
Naogaon208,304 inhabitants
Tangail189,925 inhabitants
Chapai Nawabganj180,731 inhabitants
Sirajganj177,326 inhabitants
Chandpur171,065 inhabitants
Feni156,971 inhabitants
Jamalpur150,172 inhabitants
Pabna144,442 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Barisâl8,325,666 inhabitants13,645 km²
Chittagong28,423,019 inhabitants33,771 km²
Dhâkâ36,433,505 inhabitants20,509 km²
Khulnâ15,687,759 inhabitants22,285 km²
Mymensingh10,990,913 inhabitants10,584 km²
Râjshâhî18,484,858 inhabitants18,310 km²
Rangpur15,787,758 inhabitants16,185 km²
Sylhet9,910,219 inhabitants12,596 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also