Myanmar (Burma)

Official nameRepublic of the Union of Myanmar
Name in local languagePyidaungzu Thammada Myanma Naingngandaw ; ပြည်ထောင်စု သမ္မတ မြန်မာနိုင်ငံတော် (my)
SubcontinentSoutheast Asia
Population (ranking: 26e)54,819,389 inhabitants (2021)
Population growth0.88 % / year
Area676,553 km²
Density81.03 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 73e)76.086 billions $USD (2019)
GDP/capita (ranking)1,408 $USD (2019)
GDP growth2.90 % / year (2019)
Life expectancy (ranking)66.90 years (2018)
Birth rate18.39 ‰ (2015)
Fertility rate2.29 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)7.96 ‰ (2015)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)62.00 ‰ (2014)
Literacy rate89.50 % (2014)
Official languagesBurmese
CurrencyKyat (K MMK)
HDI (ranking: 183e)0.583 / 1 (2019)
EPI (ranking)45.32 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional republic under a military junta
Head of StatePresident Myint Swe (interim) ; State Leader Min Aung Hlaing
National Day4 January (independence of 1948)
DemonymBurmese, Myanma, Myanmese
Tourists (ranking)4,364,101 people (2019)
Myanmar (Birmanie) – petite
Democracy wins but remains fragile

Myanmar (or Burma) is a country in mainland Southeast Asia (formerly known as Indochina). It has common borders with Bangladesh, China, India, Laos and Thailand. It is bordered by the Andaman Sea to the south and by the Bay of Bengal to the southwest, with about 2,000 kilometers of coastline.

Rangoun, capitale économique de la Birmanie
Rangoon, economic capital city of Burma

See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2021)
Urban areasPopulation
Yangon (Rangoon)8,571,870 inhabitants
Mandalay2,442,763 inhabitants
Naypyidaw (Nay Pyi Taw)1,307,354 inhabitants
Mawlamyine (Moulmein)520,087 inhabitants
Magwe (Magway)477,429 inhabitants
Taunggyi438,383 inhabitants
Pa-An (Hpa-an)421,575 inhabitants
Myitkyina413,315 inhabitants
Monywa372,095 inhabitants
Kalaymyo (Kalay)348,573 inhabitants
Phakant (Hpakant)312,278 inhabitants
Meiktila309,663 inhabitants
Kanbalu (Kambalu)295,561 inhabitants
Pakokku290,139 inhabitants
Chauk287,958 inhabitants
Pathein287,071 inhabitants
Mergui284,489 inhabitants
Bago (Pegu)263,464 inhabitants
Homalin258,206 inhabitants
Kyauktaga251,212 inhabitants
Aunglan235,222 inhabitants
Myaing225,771 inhabitants
Kawkareik220,342 inhabitants
Natmauk206,996 inhabitants
Daik U202,530 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
States and RegionsPopulationArea
Ayeyarwady (Region)6,232,610 inhabitants35,136 km²
Bago (Region)4,949,736 inhabitants39,403 km²
Chin (State)516,908 inhabitants36,018 km²
Kachin (State)1,923,389 inhabitants89,039 km²
Kayah (Karenni) (State)333,334 inhabitants11,731 km²
Kayin (Karen) (State)1,636,829 inhabitants30,382 km²
Magway (Region)3,906,105 inhabitants44,819 km²
Mandalay (Region)6,573,924 inhabitants29,954 km²
Mon (State)1,977,011 inhabitants12,296 km²
Naypyidaw Union Territory (Territory)1,307,354 inhabitants7,067 km²
Rakhine (Arakan) (State)3,304,405 inhabitants36,777 km²
Sagaing (Region)5,607,400 inhabitants94,621 km²
Shan (State)6,482,070 inhabitants155,796 km²
Tanintharyi (Tenasserim) (Region)1,496,444 inhabitants43,343 km²
Yangon (Rangoon) (Region)8,571,870 inhabitants10,171 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also