Official nameRepublic of Guatemala
Name in local languageRepública de Guatemala (es)
SubcontinentCentral America
Population (ranking: 68e)18,065,725 inhabitants (2020)
Population growth2.13 % / year
Area108,930 km²
Density165.85 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 72e)78.460 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)4,549 $USD (2018)
GDP growth3.10 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)72.50 years (2019)
Birth rate22.50 ‰ (2017)
Fertility rate2.70 children / woman (2017)
Death rate (ranking)4.80 ‰ (2017)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)20.00 ‰ (2017)
Literacy rate94.35 % (2014)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyQuetzal (GTQ)
HDI (ranking: 165e)0.651 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)52.33 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Alejandro Giammattei
National Day15 September (independence of 1821), 20 October (revolution of 1944)
Tourists (ranking)1,660,000 people (2017)
Guatemala – petite

Guatemala is a Central American country surrounded by Mexico, Belize, Honduras and El Salvador. It is bathed to the east by the Caribbean Sea, and southwest by the Pacific Ocean.

Volcans Tolimán (à droite) et Atitlán, Guatemala
Volcanos Tolimán (right) and Atitlán, Guatemala. Photo: Gringologue
Île de Flores, Guatemala
Flores Island, Guatemala. Photo: Javier Aroche
Lac Atitlán, Guatemala
Lake Atitlán, Guatemala
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2019)
Urban areasPopulation
Guatemala5,484,569 inhabitants
Quetzaltenango792,530 inhabitants
Cobán511,780 inhabitants
Mazatenango312,071 inhabitants
Huehuetenango225,328 inhabitants
Flores166,476 inhabitants
Jutiapa157,968 inhabitants
Sololá154,054 inhabitants
Escuintla153,131 inhabitants
Chichicastenango148,855 inhabitants
Jalapa147,266 inhabitants
Retalhuleu146,974 inhabitants
San Marcos141,439 inhabitants
Santa Cruz Barillas140,332 inhabitants
Malacatán139,945 inhabitants
Coatepeque131,684 inhabitants
Santa Lucía Cotzumalguapa129,341 inhabitants
Momostenango128,728 inhabitants
Nahualá116,582 inhabitants
Morales115,300 inhabitants
Sayaxché114,781 inhabitants
Puerto Barrios104,584 inhabitants
Santa Cruz del Quiché102,782 inhabitants
Zacapa99,123 inhabitants
Ixcán98,543 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Alta Verapaz1,410,591 inhabitants8,686 km²
Baja Verapaz331,561 inhabitants3,124 km²
Chimaltenango762,742 inhabitants1,979 km²
Chiquimula445,555 inhabitants2,376 km²
El Progreso181,485 inhabitants1,922 km²
Escuintla820,447 inhabitants4,386 km²
Guatemala3,531,754 inhabitants2,126 km²
Huehuetenango1,390,006 inhabitants7,400 km²
Izabal500,827 inhabitants9,038 km²
Jalapa396,488 inhabitants2,063 km²
Jutiapa514,212 inhabitants3,216 km²
Petén833,679 inhabitants35,854 km²
Quetzaltenango940,159 inhabitants1,953 km²
Quiché1,237,939 inhabitants8,378 km²
Retalhuleu362,498 inhabitants1,856 km²
Sacatepéquez369,626 inhabitants465 km²
San Marcos1,225,335 inhabitants3,791 km²
Santa Rosa406,924 inhabitants2,995 km²
Sololá548,347 inhabitants1,061 km²
Suchitepéquez624,069 inhabitants2,510 km²
Totonicapán601,837 inhabitants1,061 km²
Zacapa253,560 inhabitants2,690 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also