Official nameUnited Mexican States
Name in local languageEstados Unidos Mexicanos (es)
SubcontinentNorth America
Population (ranking: 10e)127,318,112 inhabitants (2019)
Population growth1.40 % / year
Area1,964,375 km²
Density64.78 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 15e)1,223.809 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)9,698 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.00 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)75.00 years (2018)
Birth rate19.00 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate2.20 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)5.00 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)13.00 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate95.14 % (2015)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyPeso (MXN)
HDI (ranking: 105e)0.767 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)59.69 (2018)
GovernmentFederal presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Andrés Manuel López Obrador
National Day16 September (independence of 1810)
Tourists (ranking)39,298,000 people (2017)
Mexique – petite

Mexico is a federal republic composed of 32 states straddling North America and Central America (Isthmus of Tehuantepec). His full name is United States of Mexico. It shares borders with the United States to the north, Belize and Guatemala to the south.
Its capital, Mexico City, is one of the largest cities in the world, with 21 million inhabitants. In recent years, the growth of this huge agglomeration has slowed down, but the health situation in most neighborhoods is deplorable. The vast urban area of Mexico City, from Toluca in the west to Puebla in the east, has a population of about 32 million.

Mexico, Mexique
Mexico City, Mexico

Colima volcano in eruption, Mexico. Photo: Sergio Tapiro

Mexique - pyramide des âges (2015)
Mexico – Age structure (2015). Source: Inegi
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2014)
Urban areasPopulation
México20,892,724 inhabitants
Guadalajara4,887,383 inhabitants
Monterrey4,689,601 inhabitants
Puebla (Heroica Puebla de Zaragoza)2,941,988 inhabitants
Toluca2,202,886 inhabitants
San Diego - Tijuana (Mexican part)1,981,301 inhabitants
León1,768,193 inhabitants
El Paso - Ciudad Juárez (Mexican part)1,455,923 inhabitants
Brownsville - McAllen - Matamoros - Reynosa (Mexican part)1,438,035 inhabitants
La Laguna - Torreón1,342,195 inhabitants
Querétaro1,323,640 inhabitants
San Luis Potosí1,159,807 inhabitants
Mérida1,143,041 inhabitants
Aguascalientes1,044,049 inhabitants
Mexicali988,417 inhabitants
Cuernavaca983,365 inhabitants
Saltillo923,636 inhabitants
Chihuahua918,339 inhabitants
Tampico916,854 inhabitants
Veracruz915,213 inhabitants
Morelia911,960 inhabitants
Culiacán905,265 inhabitants
Acapulco886,975 inhabitants
Hermosillo884,273 inhabitants
Villahermosa823,213 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
States (federal entities)PopulationArea
Aguascalientes1,312,544 inhabitants5,618 km²
Baja California3,578,561 inhabitants71,446 km²
Basse-Californie du Sud712,029 inhabitants73,475 km²
Campeche899,931 inhabitants57,925 km²
Chiapas5,217,908 inhabitants73,289 km²
Chihuahua3,765,325 inhabitants247,455 km²
Coahuila2,954,915 inhabitants151,563 km²
Colima711,235 inhabitants5,625 km²
Durango1,754,754 inhabitants123,451 km²
Guanajuato5,853,677 inhabitants30,608 km²
Guerrero3,533,251 inhabitants63,621 km²
Hidalgo2,858,359 inhabitants20,842 km²
Jalisco7,844,830 inhabitants78,609 km²
Mexico (État)16,187,608 inhabitants22,357 km²
Michoacán4,584,471 inhabitants58,643 km²
Morelos1,903,811 inhabitants4,893 km²
Nayarit1,181,050 inhabitants27,815 km²
Nouveau León (Nuevo León)5,119,504 inhabitants64,220 km²
Oaxaca3,967,889 inhabitants93,793 km²
Puebla6,168,883 inhabitants34,290 km²
Querétaro2,038,372 inhabitants11,684 km²
Quintana Roo1,501,562 inhabitants42,361 km²
San Luis Potosí2,717,820 inhabitants60,982 km²
Sinaloa2,966,321 inhabitants57,377 km²
Sonora2,850,330 inhabitants179,503 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also