El Salvador

Official nameRepublic of El Salvador
Name in local languageRepública de El Salvador (es)
SubcontinentCentral America
Population (ranking: 110e)6,641,842 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth0.91 % / year
Area21,041 km²
Density315.66 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 109e)26.057 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)4,058 $USD (2018)
GDP growth2.50 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)73.10 years (2018)
Birth rate16.30 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate1.89 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)5.70 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)17.30 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate97.70 % (2015)
Official languagesSpanish
CurrencyUnited States dollar ($ USD)
HDI (ranking: 162e)0.667 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)53.91 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident Nayib Bukele
National Day15 September (independence of 1821)
Tourists (ranking)1,556,000 people (2017)
Salvador – petite

El Salvador is the smallest country in Central America. It is nevertheless the most densely populated, and is highly industrialized in comparison with its neighbors. It is bordered by Guatemala to the northwest and Honduras to the north and east. It is bathed by the Pacific Ocean.

Santa Tecla et le volcan de San Salvador, Savaldor
Santa Tecla and the volcano of San Salvador, Savaldor. Photo: Diego Brito
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
San Salvador2,618,205 inhabitants
Santa Ana462,628 inhabitants
Sonsonate389,342 inhabitants
San Miguel296,825 inhabitants
Usulután153,735 inhabitants
Zacatecoluca147,033 inhabitants
Ahuachapán129,750 inhabitants
San Vicente106,142 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Ahuachapán363,473 inhabitants1,240 km²
Cabañas167,563 inhabitants1,104 km²
Chalatenango204,942 inhabitants2,017 km²
Cuscatlán266,232 inhabitants756 km²
La Libertad803,794 inhabitants1,653 km²
La Paz362,566 inhabitants1,224 km²
La Unión268,430 inhabitants2,074 km²
Morazán203,753 inhabitants1,447 km²
San Miguel499,917 inhabitants2,077 km²
San Salvador1,786,422 inhabitants886 km²
San Vicente184,127 inhabitants1,184 km²
Santa Ana589,266 inhabitants2,023 km²
Sonsonate506,540 inhabitants1,226 km²
Usulután374,915 inhabitants2,130 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also