Official nameRepublic of Angola
Name in local languageRepública de Angola (pt) ; Repubilika ya Ngola (kg)
SubcontinentSouthern Africa
Population (ranking: 51e)29,131,016 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth2.72 % / year
Area1,281,432 km²
Density22.73 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 64e)105.751 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)3,432 $USD (2018)
GDP growth-2.10 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)60.80 years (2018)
Birth rate43.40 ‰ (2016)
Fertility rate6.20 children / woman (2016)
Death rate (ranking)11.30 ‰ (2016)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)44.00 ‰ (2016)
Literacy rate72.93 % (2015)
Official languagesPortuguese
CurrencyKwanza (AOA)
HDI (ranking: 187e)0.574 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)37.44 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party presidential constitutional republic
Head of StatePresident João Lourenço
National Day11 November (independence of 1975)
Tourists (ranking)397,000 people (2016)
Angola – petite
Strong demographic and urban growth

Angola is a country in southwestern Africa bordering the Democratic Republic of Congo, Congo, Namibia and Zambia. This former Portuguese colony is a member of the community of Portuguese-speaking countries. It is the second Lusophone country by its size and its population, after Brazil and in front of Mozambique.

Désert côtier, Angola
Coastal desert, Angola
Chutes Kalandula, Angola
Kalandula Falls, Angola
Montagnes Tundavala, Angola
Mountains Tundavala, Angola
Luanda, capitale de l'Angola
Luanda, capital of Angola
Nouveaux quartiers à Luanda, Angola
New neighborhoods at Luanda, Angola
Bidonville, Angola
Shantytown, Angola
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2017)
Urban areasPopulation
Luanda9,165,776 inhabitants
Lobito - Benguela1,172,741 inhabitants
Huambo1,105,819 inhabitants
Lubango731,575 inhabitants
Cabinda598,210 inhabitants
Uíge493,529 inhabitants
Malanje486,870 inhabitants
Kuito477,302 inhabitants
Saurimo423,548 inhabitants
Cuanhama360,491 inhabitants
Luena350,803 inhabitants
Menongue306,622 inhabitants
Ombadja290,077 inhabitants
Cubal287,931 inhabitants
Bailundo282,150 inhabitants
Namibe282,056 inhabitants
Sumbe267,693 inhabitants
Matala243,938 inhabitants
Amboim234,894 inhabitants
Andulo234,791 inhabitants
Ganda224,668 inhabitants
Cela218,505 inhabitants
Soyo218,193 inhabitants
Dande217,929 inhabitants
Chitato (Dundo)195,665 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Bengo413,599 inhabitants31,371 km²
Benguela2,414,094 inhabitants31,788 km²
Bié1,602,663 inhabitants70,314 km²
Cabinda779,383 inhabitants7,283 km²
Cuando Cubango829,230 inhabitants199,049 km²
Cuanza Norte482,222 inhabitants24,110 km²
Cuanza Sul2,050,441 inhabitants55,660 km²
Cunene1,087,493 inhabitants87,342 km²
Huambo2,234,039 inhabitants34,270 km²
Huíla2,735,297 inhabitants79,002 km²
Luanda7,714,644 inhabitants2,257 km²
Lunda Norte944,165 inhabitants103,760 km²
Lunda Sul591,237 inhabitants77,637 km²
Malanje1,076,481 inhabitants97,602 km²
Moxico583,893 inhabitants223,022 km²
Namibe549,857 inhabitants58,137 km²
Uíge1,615,360 inhabitants58,698 km²
Zaire655,536 inhabitants40,130 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also