Official nameRepublic of Namibia
Name in local languageRepublic of Namibia (en)
SubcontinentSouthern Africa
Population (ranking: 147e)2,352,592 inhabitants (2018)
Population growth1.55 % / year
Area824,116 km²
Density2.85 inhabitants / km²
GDP (ranking: 131e)14.522 billions $USD (2018)
GDP/capita (ranking)5,931 $USD (2018)
GDP growth-0.10 % / year (2018)
Life expectancy (ranking)63.40 years (2018)
Birth rate29.73 ‰ (2014)
Fertility rate3.52 children / woman (2014)
Death rate (ranking)7.10 ‰ (2014)
Infant mortality rate (ranking)32.80 ‰ (2015)
Literacy rate94.88 % (2015)
Official languagesEnglish
CurrencyNamibian dollar ($ NAD)
HDI (ranking: 168e)0.645 / 1 (2018)
EPI (ranking)58.46 (2018)
GovernmentUnitary dominant-party semi-presidential republic
Head of StatePresident Hage Geingob
National Day21 March (independence in 1990)
Tourists (ranking)1,469,000 people (2016)
Namibie – petite
A country still too dependent on the outside

Namibia is a sparsely populated country in southern Africa bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, South Africa to the south, Botswana to the east, Angola to the north and Zambia to the northeast. Although it has no border with Zimbabwe, only 200 meters separate the two countries at the crossroads of Kazungula. It is largely desert, with one of the lowest population densities in the world.

Namibie - Désert du Namib
Namib desert, Namibia. Source: NASA
Namib-Naukluft National Park sand dunes, Namibia
Namib-Naukluft National Park sand dunes, Namibia. Photo: Yathin S Krishnappa, Most Beautiful Spots
Windhoek, capitale de la Namibie
Windhoek, capitale of Namibia
See all related maps or articles
Urban areas (2016)
Urban areasPopulation
Windhoek404,958 inhabitants
Rundu86,139 inhabitants
Walvis Bay75,260 inhabitants
Swakopmund64,373 inhabitants
Lüderitz12,926 inhabitants
See all urban areas
Administrative divisions
Caprivi90,596 inhabitants14,528 km²
Erongo150,809 inhabitants63,579 km²
Hardap79,507 inhabitants109,651 km²
Karas77,421 inhabitants161,215 km²
Kavango223,352 inhabitants48,463 km²
Khomas342,141 inhabitants37,007 km²
Kunene86,856 inhabitants115,293 km²
Ohangwena245,446 inhabitants10,703 km²
Omaheke71,233 inhabitants84,612 km²
Omusati243,166 inhabitants26,573 km²
Oshana176,674 inhabitants8,653 km²
Oshikoto181,973 inhabitants38,653 km²
Otjozondjupa143,903 inhabitants105,185 km²
See all administrative divisions
See also